Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas

Contains all five novellas.

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out.

Blurb from Goodreads

20151206_115723.jpg

Why read separate short stories when you can have them in one handy book? So, here are 5 mini reviews in one handy review!

Book One

The first book was probably my favourite. It’s everything we know and love about Celaena, only when she was more bad ass (if that’s even possible!). Celaena takes no sh** from nobody, despite knowing the consequences of not following orders. Plus, it’s really nice to see that she’s always felt passionately about the freedom of slaves. I thought it was a situation of spoiled princess being put into slavery and finding a new side of compassion. But no, she’s always stood out from the rest.

Book Two

Book two was stupidly short. Like, annoyingly short, only a couple of chapters long. It was good, I’m just really glad I didn’t make the mistake of getting it as a separate book. We were introduced to Yrene, and she was very sweet. But we never saw her again… So I’m not entirely sure what the point of this book was?

Book Three

In this one, Celaena is sent away to train with the Silent Assassins. Her trainer, Ansel, was not at all what I was expecting. But in a good way! This wasn’t exactly action-packed for the most part, since it was mostly Celaena learning new training techniques (although that was interesting). But the last few chapters really picked up! There’s nothing better than a shocking betrayal to make a book exciting. Oh, and she got to put all that training into action, which was impressive to watch. Lastly, there was some emotional trauma caused by this that carried on into the future books. What could be better?

Book Four

Some romance! I love romance! If you’ve read the rest of the series, you’ll have heard of the infamous Sam Cortland. Well, in this one he starts using his manly charms. And I am IN LOVE. He really fell for Celaena, and he’s not afraid to show it. And they work together, which gives a different side to their relationship. They have that sort of relationship where they can practically read each other’s minds, and I love it. It makes their assassinations a lot more successful. Oh, and in this one there was a near death experience! I love those! It shows a completely new side to Celaena when she’s in danger. And it makes me feel so sad for her!

Book Five

The end! I’m impressed I didn’t cry, that was heartbreaking even though I knew it was coming. Like I said, if you’ve read the rest of the series, you know a lot of things that are going to happen in this book. But in this book, you really get to know them, instead of just knowing them through Celaena’s memories. So it’s a lot sadder! I’m just mad I didn’t read the series in order, because that last bit left me pretty confused…

Overall

Basically, if you like the series (or want to try the series), definitely read this! The only flaw I’d say is that it didn’t need to be five books. In the gaps between each book we only missed a few months max. And then they were explained in flashbacks anyway. So what’s the point? Why not just have one prequel book?

But, you know, Celaena, assassinations, romance, near death experiences. All that good stuff! Have any of you read this? What did you think?

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

Leave a Reply

