Posted in CHRISTMAS, Posts, Tags

On the Fifteenth Day of Christmas…

This month, I’m counting down the days until Christmas as a part of Blogmas. Just like an advent calendar! Except no chocolate… I’m also offering you guys a little Christmas present. For all the days of December, I’ll be following back anyone who chooses to follow me. SO tell your friends, and let’s get our follower counts up

Today, I have a guest post from the lovely Reg. She found this tag here at Pretty Books.

The Christmas Cracker Book Tag

Pick a book with a wintry cover

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater. I dismissed this book because I thought meh, werewolves but finally picked it up a couple years back and actually liked it quite a bit, despite the insta-love. I wasn’t really in love with the characters or the story itself, but Stiefvater’s writing is beautiful, and it made this whole book worth reading.

Shiver.jpg

Pick a book you’re likely buy as a present

The illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone! I’ve been leafing through it every time I see it at a bookstore and it is absolutely, absolutely gorgeous. It’s just so pretty and probably quite an easy (albeit expensive) gift, as most people I know enjoy Harry Potter and would appreciate another version of it. The illustrations are great as well—I can’t wait until they publish all seven!

HP1-Illustrated.jpg

Pick a festive-themed book

I don’t want to repeat my answer but… Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire? It remains one of my favourite books in the world, and I’ve always found the Triwizard Tournament to be amazingly… well, festive. Dragons! Magic! Challenges! These things make me feel remarkably excited. 😛

HP4

Pick a book you can curl up with by the fireplace

Possible The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion? It’s not exactly a winter book or anything, but Don and Rosie’s courtship and relationship definitely fill me with the warm and fuzzies. It’s my ‘happy place’ book and I still pick it up occasionally to read a few chapters or so sometimes when I feel down on myself. Plus, it’s set where I am!

The Rosie Project.jpg

Pick a book you want to read over the festive period

Right on the top of my TBR list is The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Everyone and their mother have been telling me how beautiful it is and I’ve only read three chapters so far, but I can already tell it’s going to be quite a ride.

The Book Thief

Pick a book that’s so good it gives you chills

The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. I read this one a couple of days back and I’m absolutely in love with it. The characters, the writing, the fairytale that it’s based on—I love everything about it. It didn’t give me chills per se, but I did spend an afternoon just powering through this book because I couldn’t put it down.

The Wrath and The Dawn.jpg

Pick a book going on your Christmas wishlist

Would it be totally overrated if I say Illuminae? I’m always kind of late on the bandwagon and I haven’t read this one yet, and I think it’s one of those books better read as a print book given its formatting and layout. Besides, I always love me some futuristic dystopia. 😛

Illuminae

Reg’s Tags

If you want to find more of Reg, check her out here! Plus her Twitter (where we first started chatting), Goodreads, etc.

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “On the Fifteenth Day of Christmas…

Leave a Reply

