Posted in CHRISTMAS, Posts

On the Thirteenth Day of Christmas…

This month, I’m counting down the days until Christmas as a part of Blogmas. Just like an advent calander! Except no chocolate… I’m also offering you guys a little Christmas present. For all the days of December, I’ll be following back anyone who chooses to follow me. SO tell your friends, and let’s get our follower counts up

Today, I’m just going to be super lazy and recycle a post I’ve already written. I did a guest post that was posted yesterday on That Artsy Reader Girl, so go check out her blog too! She’s getting people from all over the world to explain Christmas in their country – so here’s what Christmas in New Zealand is like!


First off, it’s summer here. That means we’re off school for summer break, and there’s absolutely no fear of a white Christmas. Honestly, I get super jealous of seeing snow in so many other countries! I would love snow here, but it’ll never happen at Christmas time. Luckily though, it also means we don’t have to snuggle up inside during the day. For me personally, my dad’s parents come and visit us, or we go and visit them. With six people in the house, it can be a little crowded. So it’s a good thing we get to go outside! We have Christmas lunch outside, and my dad and I often get sunburned. Yeah, we got the dud genes… Because my parents get Christmas break off, we go to the beach a lot once my grandparents are gone. Again, lots of sunburns, but also swimming in the sea! Oh, and the blooming of these beautiful trees, the pohutakwa

Pohutakawa.jpg

When I signed up for writing this, I was worried that we didn’t have many differences apart from the season. Then I discovered something terrible about America – you don’t have Santa parades! Okay, how do you cope? What was your childhood?!? I haven’t been in years, since I’m supposedly too grown-up now, but when I was younger we went every year. I was even in one, dressed up as a fairy and handing out lollies (candy, sweets, whatever you want to call them). Basically, the parade is exactly what you’d expect – some dancers, some fairies, some circus people, all doing cool performances. And then, the man himself! Santa always has the best float, filled with lucky as heck children, always bringing up the rear of the parade. He’s not actually flying in this picture (obviously), but the floats are cool enough to make it look like it.

The last big difference (I think) is the food. For Americans, you’ve stuffed yourselves a month earlier at Thanksgiving. For us, the last time we ate that much food was last Christmas. So I think we get into it more than you guys do – but I’ve never celebrated anywhere outside of New Zealand, so what would I know? Definitely the best food we get at Christmas is pavlova. Honestly, I don’t know how to explain it to anyone who hasn’t had it. Google it! We also have roast kumara (sweet potato) with our roast lamb. Very New Zealand-y! Oh, and you can’t forget Christmas cookies! Where would be without those? And advent calendars, Sampler biscuits, lamingtons… I’m drooling just thinking about it

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “On the Thirteenth Day of Christmas…

  1. Even though its nearly 70 and there’s no snow here at the moment (really weird weather), I’ll trade you weather. Lol. I live pretty far up north in America, and its only a matter of time before we end up with a foot or two of snow. Its so strange to think that its summer in other parts of the world. Earth is weird. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

