Posted in Posts, Tags

Unpopular Opinion Tag

Thanks to Katniss Potter for the nomination! Yes, it was a million years ago. But I’m catching up, okay?

Unpopular Opinions

1. A popular book or series that you didn’t like

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. I HATED it, but it got awards. How?!?

We Were Liars

2. A popular book that everyone hates but you love

Organising my Goodreads shelf by lowest rating, the one that stands out are Jacqueline Wilson’s books. I adore her, but most of her books rate around 3 stars! Guys, how are you not in love with her??

3. A love triangle where your ship didn’t sail

So many… City of Bones, even though it was always clear who Clary was going to choose. Twilight, although I was again obviously wrong. Hunger Games, but that’s actually based off the actors…Love Triangle of Doom

4. A popular genre that you hardly reach for

Horror. Lots of people love it, but I’m too much of a coward

5. A beloved character you didn’t like

Going with question 3, I really don’t like Jace! He’s too cocky for me, I can’t stand it (although I’m so in love with this picture)Jace

6. A popular author you can’t get into

Gayle Forman. I hated hated hated If I Stay, then I went on to read the second one in the series. And guess what? I still hated it! So I have no intention of reading the rest of her books, no matter how big the hype. I’ve learned my lesson

7. A popular book series you have no interest in reading

Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit, etc. They look too big and dreary for me. I kind of want to see the movies, but I don’t think that’ll happen either!

8. An adaption you liked better than the book

I can’t think of any off the top of my head… I’m going to go out there and say the Duff. I hated the book, but I’ve heard the movie is pretty different. I liked the potential the book had, so I’m hoping I’ll really enjoy the movie. Can anyone confirm that?

Nominated

I’m nominating the people who most recently commented on my posts at the time that I wrote this:

Miserable and Magical

Panda Hearts Books

Urban Life

Bookisness and Tea

And you! If you ever want to be nominated for a tag, just let me know. I can add you to the list for this one, or I’ll make sure to tag you for the next one (and there are A LOT)

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

24 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinion Tag

  1. I really like this tag, it always starts up great discussions hahaha I agree with some of yours, but I actually enjoyed We Were Liars :/ other than that, I totally get it though! That picture of Jace – I had to laugh way more than I should have!
    Also, I’ve watched the DUFF and the movie has nothing to do with the book, except for the core message. hahaha I liked it, but it’s a lot more clichΓ© than the book was. I wasn’t too fond of Bianca’s voice in the book, but they touched upon some serious topics there and they left out a lot of it in the movie. But either way, it is SO FUN to watch!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So many people enjoyed it! I just can’t understand it. It’s such a great picture πŸ˜›
      Yeah, the message of the book is really important. That’s exactly why I want to watch the movie! It seems really fun, so I’m excited πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh, I remember Jacqueline Wilson! I owe her a lot – her simple, lovely writing was so great for me as a child, and I learned so much from her books (I remember reading Girls in Love, Girls in Tears, etc. and The Lottie Project)!
    I love the LOTR movies, and I find the books very hard to pick up. I think getting into Tolkien requires a big time commitment. In saying that though, the movies are very accessible and are masterpieces! I don’t think you’ll regret it if you ever watch them. They are beautiful and the story is incredible. β™₯

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, that woman played such an important part in my childhood! And they talk about exactly the kinds of messages we need at that age, especially the Girls in Love series.
      I feel like I should watch the movies, but like you said, it’s a big commitment. Maybe if I have a particularly boring day I’ll try them πŸ™‚ Not the books though!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ugh I hated If I Stay too, not going to even try reading the sequel. And yes, I can confirm that The Duff movie is much better than the book. It’s really different from the book but I found it really funny and really enjoyable to watch. Anyways, thank you for the tag, will definitely do this soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my goodness I just finished We Were Liars and I loved it! Isn’t it strange how people’s opinions differ? I can see why you didn’t like it though. I couldn’t workout whether I loved it or hated it, but in the end I decided I loved it haha x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

