Posted in Posts, Writing

Writer’s Block – When Nothing Seems To Be Working…

Everyone gets it, right? You turn on your computer or your laptop, you pick up your pen, you get a new canvas. And then… Nothing. An hour later, everything in front of you is still empty. Well, apart from all the new tabs you’ve opened to procrastinate. This has been on replay A LOT lately

So, what do you do about it? Is there a cure? For me, it was forcing myself to write, and ending up with this mess. I like to think I have some good posts floating around on my blog – but this is not one of them! It’s taking too long to write, there were a thousand typos (hopefully I got rid of them all…). It’s just NOT WORKING.

Wait, there was a point to this post. Focus, Victoria.

What do you do about it? Is there actually anything you can do apart from playing songs on repeat and retweeting way too many things to be healthy? Yes, that includes this tweet (and support from you lovely people!)

I said there was a point to this post, but there really, really isn’t… Except maybe to feel sorry for myself? If that was it, then I’ve definitely succeeded. Honestly, I just feel even more inspired. There isn’t even colour in this post. UGH. Who knows, maybe this will never make it out of the depth of my computer…

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

8 thoughts on “Writer’s Block – When Nothing Seems To Be Working…

  1. That video is pretty tight.
    Btw, when I’m in that situation, I sometimes just write whatever pops in my head and soon as it pops in there and pretty soon I have something to write about or I’m able to direct my thoughts to what I want to write about. But that’s when things go well. Otherwise, I go on FB and do the same as tweets–update everyone on how hard it is to write.
    I hope it works out for you…. and that you’re not on a deadline because that would suck.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, that’s what I’ve been trying to do. I have so many deleted drafts, it’s ridiculous! Luckily I don’t have any blogging deadlines at the moment, just a few books I need to review. But that’s easy enough ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      1. That’s good. I have a lot of reviews to catch up on as well but I’m so exhausted by the time I get home, the last thing I want to do is a review so I do everything else.
        I’m a master procrastinator.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. When I get a huge block, I just stop trying to write and do something else, like reading, watching stuff, coloring, organizing my socks for color and shape… (#truestory for my dissertation’s writing block, HAHAHA!) Point is that, if you take your mind off the problem for a bit, when you get to it again, you may be able to see things differently and solve it ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, haha! Yeah, you save the problem of a sore throat later โค Hm, you may have to buy more socks this Christmas, then. Who knows whwn you will need to catalogue them to break a writer's block?! HAHAHAHAHA ;D

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

