Posted in Posts, Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday (#30) – Thanksgiving

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. They tell us what to write our top ten for, and we do! This week…

toptentuesday

Thanksgiving

As a non-American, I don’t actually celebrate Thanksgiving. Typical me, choosing this week to get back into my TTT inbstead of a week with a topic I know well. But, I’ve thought up a topic, so let’s go!

Americans Who Can Teach Me The Ways

  1. The sisters from the Secret Life of Bees. They’re such a close knit group of sisters, and I know that they’d have the food so sorted for our Thanksgiving feast. Which is one of the most important parts, right?
  2. Percy and his mom from Percy Jackson. They’re a little less typical, and I’d like to see what a Thanksgiving is like that might not get on tv
  3. The Pretty Little Liars. Because they’d have the partying part down! I’m sure Thanksgiving break is an excuse to party, right? Plus, look how hot they look. I would love to be a part of that!
  4. The Sisterhood as in of the Travelling Pants. They may not have the family thing down, but Carmen would have her own cute traditions, and between them all they would know all the regular ones 
  5. The Ingalls family from Little House on the Prairie. Well, okay, I don’t think it was a thing then… But they would have a really traditional Thanksgiving!
  6. The Lightwood kids from the Mortal Instruments. Another kind of broken family, with some fabulous love
  7. The girls from the Selection. More party! Plus, duh, a castle?!? How amazing would that be?!? 
  8. The cutest couple ever from Landline. They don’t have kids, which I think would give the day a completely different feel. And would they go on a date? Visit their family? How do these things work??
  9. The second cutest couple ever from the Time Traveller’s Wife. Ditto to number 8! Look at that photo, the frigging cutiesHenry and Clare
  10. Sadie from… well, Sadie. This girl has no family she wants to visit, no partner, just a business at a sex shop… What the heck would she get up to?
  11. My blogging family! Of COURSE I want to spend such an iconic holiday with you guys. Although, you Americans have to be in charge… The rest of us are just there for the food

Aaaand, there’s my list! So, to you Americans – can someone please explain exactly what you do on Thanksgiving? Help out a confused Kiwi! And to the rest of you – what topic did you choose? All of you make sure to send me a link to your posts. And HAPPY THANKSGIVING

 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

35 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (#30) – Thanksgiving

  1. I am not American either! I forgot to do TTT last week and wanted to get back into it this week, but I am not celebrating Thanksgiving either. I love how you tweaked the theme!!! I am not sure what I am going to do yet, but there are always books to be thankful for, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your post! I was gonna write a TTT today but seeing the topic was Thanksgiving and being a non American, I decided not to but I’m so happy to see your amazing TTT 😀 Also, I’m now trying to imagine a Thanksgiving dinner with the Lightwoods… honestly, they would probably slay some demons instead of a dinner 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great list! I studied abroad in England during Thanksgiving one year and the International Students Program staff was all confused on what types of food Americans eat and wanted to get it just right for us – which was nice and awesome (still my best Thanksgiving ever). American Thanksgiving is just an excuse to eat turkey, stuffing, cranberries, sweet potato or pumpkin pie with family. And then some people go Black Friday shopping after lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love your topic and list! You’re not missing much with Thanksgiving haha. Like everyone else said, it’s basically an excuse to eat lots of food and be lazy with family. Thanks for sending me the link 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Aw, so fun! Love how you put this together. The Travelling Pants girls (movies) are fun to hang out with and ‘The Selection’ is one of my favorite YA series – plus, I’d so love to have America’s closet!

    Thanks so much for visiting Dreaming Under the Same Moon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

