Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

A Magic Dark and Bright

She meant to help a ghost…not unleash a curse.

Amelia Dupree hasn’t seen the Woman in White since the night her brother died. 

The ghost seems to have disappeared from the woods surrounding Asylum, Pennsylvania—that is, until Charlie Blue moves into the creepy old MacAllister House next door. Amelia can’t help liking him, even though she spent her childhood thinking his grandmother was a witch. And she definitely can’t ignore the connection between his arrival and the Woman in White’s return. 

Then Amelia learns that the Woman in White is a prisoner, trapped between the worlds of the living and the dead. Devastated by the idea that her brother could be suffering a similar fate, Amelia decides to do whatever it takes to help the Woman in White find peace–and Charlie agrees to help her.

But when Amelia’s classmates start to drown in the Susquehanna River, one right after another, rumors swirl as people begin to connect the timing of Charlie’s arrival with the unexplained deaths. As Charlie and Amelia uncover the dark history of Asylum, they realize they may have unleashed an unspeakable evil. One they have to stop before everything they love is destroyed.

Find it on Goodreads here

A Magic Dark And Bright

I’ll admit, this book wasn’t exactly one of my favourites. Man, I wish it was. It just didn’t do it for me.

This is the kind of story that I’d already read a hundred times before I opened up this book. Small town. Mysterious magic. New kid comes to town, mysterious magic seems weirdly related to them. Original, right? Amelia, our protagonist, wasn’t overly lovable. I didn’t hate her, but I can never stand characters whose main feature is they’re in mourning. Amelia’s brother died a year ago (I think?), and that was what defined her. She isolated herself from her friends, she was reluctant to let herself fall for the fantastic Charlie. Be sad, I completely get that. But don’t forget to live! I wish wish wish it hadn’t been done like that, because the actual mysterious magic was REALLY GOOD.

Amelia is being haunted by the Woman in White. Right away, that name had me hooked. The Woman is creepy as heck, and I couldn’t wait to find out what she was all about. Adams led you one way, then all of a sudden there was a total change in what I thought was about to happen. I really like her writing style, and I would love to read another fantasy book by her. There was also a little weirdness around Mark’s death. In the end, the way he died wasn’t super exciting. But all the other stuff surrounding him was interesting.

As I read this, I was pretty meh about reading the second book. I was really just holding out hope the author would write another fantasy book, with a more original plot. But then, THE CLIFFHANGER. That completely changed my mind. Now, I NEED the next book. Like, ASAP. Honestly, I don’t think I’ll give it a very high rating. But I can’t not read it!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “A Magic Dark and Bright

Leave a Reply

