Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

The Restaurant At the End of the Universe

Facing annihilation at the hands of the warlike Vogons is a curious time to have a craving for tea. It could only happen to the cosmically displaced Arthur Dent and his curious comrades in arms as they hurtle across space powered by pure improbabilityband desperately in search of a place to eat.
Among Arthur’s motley shipmates are Ford Prefect, a longtime friend and expert contributor to the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy; Zaphod Beeblebrox, the three-armed, two-headed ex-president of the galaxy; Tricia McMillan, a fellow Earth refugee who’s gone native (her name is Trillian now); and Marvin, the moody android who suffers nothing and no one very gladly. Their destination? The ultimate hot spot for an evening of apocalyptic entertainment and fine dining, where the food (literally) speaks for itself.
Will they make it? The answer: hard to say. But bear in mind that the Hitchhiker’s Guide deleted the term “Future Perfect” from its pages, since it was discovered not to be!

Blurb from Goodreads

And here’s my personal copy:

wpid-20151019_190725.jpg

I wasn’t a big fan of the first book. Really, I’m not sure why I picked up the second one, aside from the fact that we happen to own it…
It was very much like The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy , unsurprisingly. It has the same randomness, never seeming like it’s actually going anywhere. Yet somehow, it still holds my attention… I’m not on the edge of my seat, but I’m not bored.
This one incorporated some time travel, which I liked. The restaurant is not “at the end of the universe” in the sense that it’s the last thing. You go there, and you get to witness the universe ending. How cool is that? Then, you go back to wherever you came from. Take me there, please!
As well as going there (and abandoning poor Marvin), the gang also got to see the original creation of Earth. Honestly, we seem kind of doomed from that perspective… That bit was probably my highlight, as the boys tried to convince the people on the ship that they were morons. Oh, and Arthur taught the cavemen to play Scrabble.
The best part of this book is the world that’s been created. Adams has thought so much about what he wants to write about, and all the intricate little details that make this world fit together. He makes things up, that seemingly have no sense to them whatsoever, but they remain consistent throughout the book. I would love to see his notes on this universe; they must be so extensive, with everything that’s been created.
Overall, a nice, short read. Not one of the best books I’ve ever read, but definitely not one of the worst

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

Leave a Reply

