Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines #6)

THEY WILL BE TESTED

Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets – and human lives.

Their forbidden romance exposed, Sydney and Adrian find themselves facing the wrath of both the Alchemists and the Moroi in this electrifying conclusion to Richelle Mead’s bestselling Bloodlines series.

When the life of someone they both love is put on the line, Sydney risks everything to hunt down a deadly former nemesis. Meanwhile, she and Adrian becomes enmeshed in a puzzle that could hold the key to a shocking secret about spirit magic, a secret that could shake the entire Moroi world and alter their lives forever.

Don’t miss their unforgettable final chapter…

LOVE WILL CONQUER ALL

Blurb from Goodreads

And here’s my personal copy:

wpid-20151019_190714.jpg

*spoilers for previous books*

Guys… This is it. No more Vampire Academy. No more Bloodlines. It’s… over. I don’t think I’m emotionally okay with leaving this world.
But, this book did do it justice. After Silver Shadows, I was worried about this book letting me down. Luckily, we could just forget about the disappointing last book. This time, Adrian and Sydney, after getting married (whyyyyy) were attempting to rescue Jill. I’m not a big fan of Jill, so I wasn’t overly concerned about whether or not they found her. Instead, I worried about the effect spirit had on Adrian’s ever-declining mental health, the growth of Sydney’s magic, the looming threat of the Alchemists, the lack of acceptance for their relationship in the Moroi court, the effect spirit had on Nina’s even-more-drastically-declining mental health, the whereabouts of Olive, the threat to Lissa’s spot on the throne… Don’t worry, there wasn’t just one major plot line. There were a whole lot of little ones, all tying together during the rescue mission.

Throughout this series, the relationship between Sydney and Adrian has grown on me more and more. In some books, I didn’t like it. In others, I loved it. The reason I adore Adrian so much is for his cheekiness, and flirtiness. With serious Sydney, he lacks that. In this book though, he had that spark. He argued back when he didn’t agree with Sydney, he made A LOT of sexual jokes, but he was still fiercely loyal and protective. In this book, I could understand the relationship. You can see that they really do love each other, even when they really have bigger things to be worrying about. They actually are a perfect couple.

And finally, the ending. Obviously, I don’t want to spoil anything for you. But just know that everything wrapped up perfectly. The Olive plot twist ended a little too conveniently for me to be happy, but it was cute at the same time. Oh, and with the return of Rose and Dimitri, we could see the ending of their story. I’ll tell you now guys, it is AMAZING. There were a lot of little plot twists, and a lot of very cute things, which all combined to make the perfect ending.

Overall, I’m really happy with this book. I didn’t expect to be, but I can’t help having a smile on my face.

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

4 thoughts on “The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines #6)

  1. Oh WOW. I can’t believe Bloodlines has reached its sixth book! Adrian was my favourite character from Vampire Academy and Bloodlines (the series) just disappointed me so bad, I pretty much stopped reading. You’re definitely right that he lost that spark. With Rose he was so flirtatious, so funny and charming, and with Sydney, I felt like Sydney kept him in line a little bit too much. :/ Now I’m wondering if I should pick this up again…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, it’s crazy! Honestly, him and Rose were way better suited. I don’t know if it’s worth reading if you’ve lost your love for Adrian. I read it mostly because I liked Vampire Academy so much

      Like

      1. I just felt like he lost all the things that made him so attractive to me in Vampire Academy–he became serious and a bit too cheesy, haha. Maybe that’s just me, though. :p Did you ever catch the Vampire Academy movie?

        Like

Leave a Reply

