Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

The Witches

This is not a fairy-tale. This is about REAL WITCHES. Real witches don’t ride around on broomsticks. They don’t even wear black cloaks and hats. They are vile, cunning, detestable creatures who disguise themselves as nice, ordinary ladies. So how can you tell when you’re face to face with one? Well, if you don’t know yet you’d better find out quickly-because there’s nothing a witch loathes quite as much as children and she’ll wield all kinds of terrifying powers to get rid of them.

The Witches

I’m pretty sure I was the only person ever to not read this as a kid. At least, that’s what my friend told me. So she thrust it into my hands, and demanded I read it ASAP. I’m so glad I finally did!
The witches were absolutely terrifying, and completely believable. My favourite thing in a fantasy book is when they have disguises that make you unsure about where they are. They could be sitting right next to you on the bus as you read this… And you’d have no idea. They were described so well, and I believed every crazy thing we were told about them. Plus, there were cute little illustrations (as if Dahl’s descriptions weren’t enough).
The kid was so cute. Did he have a name? Maybe I just missed it at the beginning, but I don’t think he did. His Grandmamma called him “my darling”, and Bruno was too self absorbed to call him anything. If I’m right, and he was nameless, that’s very clever. He was also so kind, when he had no reason to be. Like I said, Bruno was horrible. But the kid helped him as much as he could.
He was also surprisingly clever. He was great at escaping the terrifying witches. He made up genius plans to get back at them. He remembered every little detail of what he overheard, no matter how weird some of the words were. I like it when kid’s books make kids that go and do things for themselves. He let his Grandmamma help him, so he wasn’t an idiot. But he also actually helped make the world a better place, despite being so young.
If I was a kid, I think I would’ve been too scared of the witches to enjoy this. But as a teenager, I loved it. I’m so glad I finally read it!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

15 thoughts on “The Witches

  1. Ahh, I LOVE Roald Dahl and this is one of my favourite books of him. His dark humour and tackling of some really morbid themes are just really, really funny, and his books can easily pass off as both adult and children entertainment. Reading your review made me really nostalgic–maybe I should reread this book (again)! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I read it when I was little, and gawd it was awesome!! But I read it before I read Harry Potter so the whole ‘witches’ thing turned out fine. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Ah, the memories of childhood books… πŸ™‚ I don’t think I missed out a single Roald Dahl book when I was young, and I’m so glad of it. Reading this post just makes me want to go back to his world again. (Should I do that? Right now, I’m really aching to, but considering the growth rate of my TBR… maybe it’s time I learnt to keep my rereading habits in check. 😦 )

    I’m glad you finally gave the book a read, though! (And even gladder that you enjoyed it, of course πŸ˜€ )

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I never read this, either. As a kid I loved Roald Dahl and this was about the only one of his books I never read. I checked it out from the library but I found it too scary to finish because I was a sensitive child who was traumatized by The Secret of NIMH II and the Tale-Spin episode “The Balooest of the Blue Bloods”. I even had the option to get it in a sale at the library but I turned it down.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I basically went through and read ALL the Roald Dahl as a child, including this one. I just love his books and his writing ❀ It is genius, and it is really my inspiration for when I am writing my own childrens fiction. I loved how this book went and turned out and I am so glad you could read it now and enjoy it. You should try the movie!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

