Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Dragonfly In Amber (Outlander #2)

For twenty years Claire Randall has kept her secrets. But now she is returning with her grown daughter to Scotland’s majestic mist-shrouded hills. Here Claire plans to reveal a truth as stunning as the events that gave it birth: about the mystery of an ancient circle of standing stones … about a love that transcends the boundaries of time … and about James Fraser, a Scottish warrior whose gallantry once drew a young Claire from the security of her century to the dangers of his….

Now a legacy of blood and desire will test her beautiful copper-haired daughter, Brianna, as Claire’s spellbinding journey of self-discovery continues in the intrigue-ridden Paris court of Charles Stuart … in a race to thwart a doomed Highlands uprising … and in a desperate fight to save both the child and the man she loves….

Dragonfly In Amber

Is it just me, or are there a lot of … in that blurb? Anyway, onto the review!

These books are very, very big. I’m talking 800 pages each. Which is a lot, especially for me. So, of course, it takes a long time to get through them. And when this is the second one I’ve read, with no break between books, it does start to drag on. Really, I read these books for Jamie, not so much for the plot. And when I’m struggling to concentrate, that becomes even worse. Luckily, Jamie’s absolute 100% perfection got me through.

Okay, I had a break in the middle. I was sick, and I read two other books. But still. Jamie.

Like the first one, this book definitely had it’s flaws. The first half was awesome. It was leading up to this huge battle, and judging from the prologue, terrible things were going to happen there. I was so excited for all the blood and death, ready to cry for Jamie and his clan. Then, two pages later, it’s over. Okay, Claire did her nursing thing, which lived up to all my expectations. But the actual battle pretty much sucked!

Don’t give up though. There’s another battle, later in the book. Now that one broke my heart into a million tiny pieces. But, I won’t go into detail as to why!

My favourite part of this book was that we got to see exactly how Claire was affected by Jamie. We got to see what her “real” life is like. Even though I’m usually not a huge fan of time-travel, I liked being confused in this one. Well. I liked seeing both parts of her life, it was still really frustrating.

In short; read it. But don’t read it if you’re not a patient person! If any of you have read it, let me know your thoughts! And tell me, does the series get better or worse as it goes on?

Also, a thought; would it be cooler if I did my own photography of books? Or do you prefer photos from Goodreads?

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

5 thoughts on “Dragonfly In Amber (Outlander #2)

  1. You seem pretty mixed about this book. Like there were some parts you loved and enjoyed, and others not so much. But I can understand wanting a break because these books are LONG. I do want to read the Outlander series at some point. It will happen ^^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

