Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Clockwork Angel

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1)

I read this book a while ago, but never got around to reading the next books in this series. So this year, I thought I’d try to read all those series I never got around to. The Mortal Instruments and the Infernal Devices were both on that list. So I read City of Bones, and I loved it. Then I read this.
Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that it was bad. If I’d read this first, I probably would have loved it. As it was, all I could see was how similar it was to City of Bones. Will was Jace, Jem was Alec, Tessa was Clary, Henry was Hodge, Jessamine was Isabelle. I loved their counterparts in City of Bones, but reading about characters that were exactly the same was pretty boring to me. In fact, City of Fallen Angels proved my point with this quote:

"Jace is much more like Will was, in personality at least"

Even the big plot twist at the end was the same! Not exactly the same, of course, but pretty close.
I did like how we got to see more of the Shadowhunter world in this book. They were a lot more involved in the other Shadowhunters lives, and the Downworlders. It was because of that evil group, that was made of Downworlders, but still. I thought the vampires were interesting.
I also liked the idea of the clockwork creatures. I’m still not entirely sure how he managed to make so many without anyone noticing, but it was a good idea for an evil army.
Tessa and Will were sometimes cute. Sometimes (okay, most of the time) I wanted to hit him. But sometimes he was sweet. Jem was so much better though. There was almost a love triangle there, but Jem was way too nice to act on it. Weirdly, I sort of wanted a love triangle. At least then Tessa would have the opportunity to make the right choice, even though she obviously wouldn’t. Why choose the nice, kind character when you can choose the selfish one?
I really want to write a longer, more detailed review, but I just can’t. Everything about this book reminded me of City of Bones, so I can’t write this without getting them confused. Basically, definitely read one of these series. But only one. There’s no point in reading both!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

10 thoughts on “Clockwork Angel

  1. I’ve read both series and I feel that you’ll see more character differences when you get to the next book. Yes they have similar personalities, but they are different back stories that come to light.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I so can relate about how both series are so similar, but I still can’t stop loving them. And interesting! Usually most people prefer TID over TMI. I think I’ll always be more partial towards TMI since they were the books that exposed me to Cassie Clare and the shadowhunter world. But both definitely have their own merits! Great review, Victoria!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am actually reading this one at the moment. I have always loved The Mortal Instruments series, so of course I would be trying this one eventually. I do like seeing the history of the Shadowhunter world and how there seems to be clockwork involved in this. And the shapeshifting? So cool! But yes, the characters are reminding me a lot of the old ones and I would have wanted them to be more diverse and you know, individual to them!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ohhh you must read the full series, I personally thing TID is better than TMI, because I prefer the characters, and the characters really intertwine in a more complex way as both series progress.Great review though 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You weren’t the only one who got that impression! I really did feel like this book was very similar at first and that the characters were just recycled. Later on into the book I had that feeling less, but it stayed with me. I don’t mind too well though, because I really do love the world. And in this one we got to see more of the vampire world!

    My recent review: http://olivia-savannah.blogspot.nl/2016/04/death-wish-review.html

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

