Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Landline

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble; it has been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems beside the point now.

Maybe that was always beside the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts…

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

Landline

Oh, Rainbow Rowell. You’ve done it again.
I adored the two YA books Rowell wrote, but never quite got around to reading her two adult books. I don’t know why. I wish I’d read this sooner. As per usual, the couple in this book was PERFECT. I mean, yes, they had their flaws. Of course they did. But despite that, they really did love each other. Like the way he proposed to her. OH MY GOODNESS. It was seriously PERFECT. Holy moly. Proposing on Christmas day? Travelling all that way to be with her? AHHH ❤
I loved their phone calls. Just like Georgie, I lived for those phone calls. He was always so concerned about her being sad, which was adorable. She wasn’t nearly as nice to him, but that was somehow okay. She loved him, she just didn’t show it all that well.
BUT THEN THE ENDING. Of course, there had to be a happy ending. I knew from the start that there would be. This was everything I could possibly have hoped for. I actually squealed with joy at this. Really, it was kind of pathetic… But necessary, I think. Yeah, definitely necessary. I won’t spoil it for you. Just trust me, it was perfect.
I liked how there was more going on with this than just the relationship. There was her job, that I was genuinely interested in. Seth was really cute. Well, okay, and a little bit of a flirt. But that’s okay, I forgave him. I wanted to be his best friend SO BADLY. I really wanted to know how their show ended up. I do wish we got a little bit more about their show, but I completely understand why we didn’t.
The only thing I would change was the magic phone. I liked the idea of it, but this wasn’t a fantasy book. Georgie wondered about how it was working, but it was never explained. Why was it never explained? I need tied up ends! I don’t like them left open like that!
But other than that tiny flaw (okay, it was a kinda big flaw) I loved this. Well done, Rainbow Rowell. Yet again, you’ve written a book that’s going high up on my favourites list!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

4 thoughts on “Landline

  1. I REALLY need to pick this one up. I’ve read two Rainbow Rowell books (Fangirl and Eleanor & Park) and really enjoyed them. Landline sounds amazing and I’m so glad that you loved the couple in this book. Also, yay for happy endings!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

