Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

The Heir (Selection #4)

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.
But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.
Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

The Heir

Firstly, LOOK AT THE COVER. SO PRETTY UGH.

Anyway…

So recently, I’ve been sick and so not at school. And what have I done? Read. Oh, and watched a few movies. But mostly, read. This was one of the books I read, and it was perfect with how I was feeling. I couldn’t concentrate on anything, but this was fluffy, without anything super serious to focus on.

I fell in love with basically every single boy. Henri was the freaking cutest thing ever, Ean tried so hard to impress her, Kile didn’t want to impress her, etc etc. I couldn’t choose just one of them, I love ALL OF THEM. What I didn’t get was why they didn’t love me back. They were too busy fawning over Eadlyn, and I have no idea what any of them saw in her.

Eadlyn has got to be one of my least favourite protagonists I’ve read about in a very long time. I DESPISE her. Why?

  1. She’s self centred. She only cares about herself, without a single thought for anyone around her. These boys are pouring their hearts out for her, and she does. Not. Care. The best example of this would have to be when she told her brother not to marry the love of his life, because she was worried that he would leave the castle and ditch her. She was literally so concerned about being lonely that she was going to ruin her brother’s future.
  2. She has no heart. Like I said, the brother thing. Also, she publicly embarrassed half the suitors when she kicked them out, because she “thought it would be funny”. In what universe is that funny?!? Again, the boys are pouring their hearts out for her. But she does not care a single bit
  3. She’s selfish (different to self centred!). There’s only caring about herself, but then she cares about other people who are directly offending her. There’s Josie, who looks up to Eadlyn and thinks she’s the greatest thing on Earth. So Eadlyn interacts with her, to tell her things like she should never touch Eadlyn’s tiara, and her brother shouldn’t be smart because that’s for losers.
  4. She’s oblivious. So at one point, she’s doing a tour thing, and people throw rotten fruit at her. This confuses her, and she does not understand why they would do that. Even though she’s never done a selfless thing in her entire life, she expects absolutely everyone to love her. Earth to Eadlyn; NO ONE LOVES YOU. LITERALLY NO ONE.

Oh, and then there was America. Okay, so I kind of hated her at the end of the One. But Heir America and One America were very different people. It annoyed me that they couldn’t stick to character AT ALL. It wasn’t like she’d grown up and changed, she just was a different person. It didn’t make me too mad though – I was too busy focusing on how much I HATED EADLYN.

I know it doesn’t sound like it, but I actually really enjoyed this book. I liked seeing the romance with Eadlyn and the boys. It’s just that I really wanted to kick her out of the castle, and keep the boys around. Is that allowed? I think it should be… I’m worried about the next books in the series, because, you know, she sucks. But if you read the Selection and enjoyed it, definitely read this one

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

4 thoughts on “The Heir (Selection #4)

Leave a Reply

