Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Outlander

The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord…1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire—and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

Outlander

Sometimes, there are books that hook you in from the first line, and never let you go. Sometimes, it takes you a chapter or two to get into it. And yeah, I understand that not every single book can start off with an amazing first line or first chapter. But this book, I don’t know if I can forgive. 300 pages it took me to get into this. Three. Hundred. Pages. It was so slow and uninteresting. But, I trust my mum’s judgement, and she told me “Wait until you meet Jamie”. Even when I met Jamie, it didn’t get good! It was still so slow, and we were getting bogged down in too much history. I wanted to give up, and go and read something that was actually good. I don’t know if my mum ever would have forgiven me though.

Then, it happened. All of a sudden, something clicked, and the book became amazing. Small spoiler here: the bit that makes it awesome is when they get married. I know, you probably hate me for telling you that, but it’s the plot of the next 600 pages, as well as all the other books. Anyway, once that happened, the book became AMAZING. Jamie is perfection in a kilt. He adores Claire with every fibre of his being, and she loves him too. There’s nothing better than reading about a couple who are as in love as these two.

So yeah, Jamie made the awful wait all worthwhile. Claire, I didn’t like as much. I could see what they were trying to do – make her a strong, independent character. But she ended up being just rude to the people who tried to help her. I understood why she wanted to get away, but Jamie loved her so much. Give him some respect, please!

Jack Randall was the bad guy you love to hate. Not just love, in the way you love Bellatrix Lestrange. I hated him in the way I hate Joffrey Lannister. He’s just an a## for no good reason. And what he did at the end… I will never forgive him for that. He hurt my baby, and just like Claire, I want to kill him for that. I’ll admit, it did make the ending pretty exciting. And I went out and bought Dragonfly in Amber almost straight away (yes, it’s just as good so far).

If you’re thinking of reading this book, absolutely do it! I promise I will be here for you to vent with when you’re suffering through the first part. Trust me though, it’s definitely worth it

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

16 thoughts on “Outlander

  1. I hated this book to start with couldn’t understand why everyone loved it so much. I kept going only because my friend promised me it would get better and she was right. After it got out of the slump I really enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I know, like they missed out on that ending which was just so gripping. I’m actually about to start the second book are you planning on reading it?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, well… you’re talking about one of my favorite books (and series) in the entire world! I’m glad you stuck with it until it clicked! For me, I think I started loving it from the moment she went through the stones, but Jamie Fraser is what makes the book absolutely amazing. I love Jamie and Claire’s relationship. I actually love Claire too, and how she sticks to who she is and says what’s on her mind, even though life would certainly be easier for her if she acted like a “proper” 18th century woman. But where’s the fun in that? Glad to hear you’re enjoying book #2!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not surprised it’s your favourite!! The relationship is perfect, even though you wouldn’t expect it 🙂 I don’t want Claire to act proper, I just want her to learn when to shut up haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

