Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

I Am Malala

I come from a country that was created at midnight. When I almost died it was just after midday.

When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, one girl spoke out. Malala Yousafzai refused to be silenced and fought for her right to an education.

On Tuesday, October 9, 2012, when she was fifteen, she almost paid the ultimate price. She was shot in the head at point-blank range while riding the bus home from school, and few expected her to survive.

Instead, Malala’s miraculous recovery has taken her on an extraordinary journey from a remote valley in northern Pakistan to the halls of the United Nations in New York. At sixteen, she has become a global symbol of peaceful protest and the youngest-ever Nobel Peace Prize laureate.

I Am Malala is the remarkable tale of a family uprooted by global terrorism, of the fight for girls’ education, of a father who, himself a school owner, championed and encouraged his daughter to write and attend school, and of brave parents who have a fierce love for their daughter in a society that prizes sons.

I Am Malala will make you believe in the power of one person’s voice to inspire change in the world.

I Am Malala

There are some books that you know you will always remember reading. They just hit you. This was one of them.

Admittedly, it had it’s flaws. Malala isn’t exactly the best writer around, as far as describing things go. But she didn’t want to make this book look pretty. She wanted to be honest, and to get her story out there. That, she did brilliantly.

If you haven’t heard of Malala, I implore you to look her up as soon as you can.  She’s only a little bit older than me, and she has gone and changed the world. She wants an education for every single boy and girl in the world. And she’s right, they deserve it. She was willing to nearly die to fight for the cause. Her life was threatened countless times, but she never gave up. Of course she was terrified – she’s living in a world where men want to kill her and her friends simply for being women at school. Her story broke my heart, but it made me all the more determined to get up and start fighting.

Her father is just as amazing, although, of course, not as young. Like Malala, he was getting constant death threats for fighting for an education. He wanted his daughter to live the life she deserved, as well as every single other child in their town. The Taliban were blowing up schools, but he kept his running. He was a school teacher, so under a lot of pressure from the Taliban. Teachers were leaving his school, leaving it up to him to run it all himself. But he never even considered giving up. He knew what the children deserved, and he was prepared to risk his life to give them an education.

It’s not often a book inspires me to do anything. But after reading this, I was straight onto her website to join her cause. I’m afraid there isn’t much I can do to help her, but anything I can do I will be. And one thing I can do is this – ask each and every one of you to help her too. Yes, read the book. Find out exactly the kind of life she was living before she managed to “escape” after being shot. Then, help this amazing, inspiring woman achieve what she has dreamt of for so long

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

5 thoughts on “I Am Malala

  1. This book has been on my list to read for so long. I have heard a lot about Malala and it is surprising to note that, last year, even the sixth grade students at my school knew her name. That is pretty impressive.
    I’m glad you thought the book was great. I can’t wait to read it myself.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Amanda

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I couldn’t agree with you more! At first I had a hard time reading because the writing style wasn’t quite what I was expecting. But I gradually fell into it and realised that despite the writing, the message of this one is what was most important. I initially thought it would solely be about the shooting but it turns out that there was a whole lot more to it – it was also about her history and family too. I liked that. Her story is so inspiring and she did so much for her cause before she was shot as well. Such an inspiration to us all ❤

    ~ Owls Be Reading Member

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

