Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Abandon Ship; The Diary of Debbie Atherton

It is 1968 when Debbie’s grandmother gives her a copy of her forefather’s old sea journal. She finds it fascinating and very different from her own diary of school life and troubles with friends. One day, sick in bed, she thinks her long-dead relative is trying to tell her something. And then she boards the ferry Wahine for a voyage to Wellington.

Abandon Ship

I love historical fiction. It’s one of my favourite genres. Living in little New Zealand, we don’t get many exciting stories about us. Let’s be honest, we’re boring! But here’s a book about us that’s actually interesting.
I’ve done all the lessons at school, and seen the monuments, and the things in the museum. I live less than half an hour away from where the boat sank. My best friend lives in Eastbourne where the survivors washed up. So this story has a particularly large impact on me. I found the history parts really interesting, like how they handled everything on the boat. People took their life jackets off to use as pillows! Are they insane? Since I know what’s going to happen, I want to walk up to people like that and shake them.
The supernatural part was the part I didn’t like. Debbie believed that her dead great-great-great-grandfather was communicating with her. I never know if I believe in ghosts or not. If it’s a fantasy story, I’ll allow it. In fact, sometimes I even encourage it! But in a history book, I’d like them to stick to the facts. I don’t want to know if Debbie is hallucinating, or if the author thinks ghosts are real. That’s not what I signed up for when I got this book.
I also didn’t really like Debbie. She was way too invested in her diary. I get that sometimes kids don’t make many friends, but really? Her diary is her only friend? She risked her life on the boat to get it, which was just stupid. She could have died for a BOOK. Yes, it had her thoughts and memories in it, but that doesn’t matter. Her life is more important.
If I’m being really honest, this doesn’t deserve three stars. But I’m being nice, because it’s about my country. And I did learn things from it, even if they weren’t told all that well

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “Abandon Ship; The Diary of Debbie Atherton

Leave a Reply

