Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Seconds before the Earth is demolished to make way for a galactic freeway, Arthur Dent is plucked off the planet by his friend Ford Prefect, a researcher for the revised edition of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy who, for the last fifteen years, has been posing as an out-of-work actor.
Together this dynamic pair begin a journey through space aided by quotes from The Hitchhiker’s Guide (“A towel is about the most massively useful thing an interstellar hitchhiker can have”) and a galaxy-full of fellow travelers: Zaphod Beeblebrox–the two-headed, three-armed ex-hippie and totally out-to-lunch president of the galaxy; Trillian, Zaphod’s girlfriend (formally Tricia McMillan), whom Arthur tried to pick up at a cocktail party once upon a time zone; Marvin, a paranoid, brilliant, and chronically depressed robot; Veet Voojagig, a former graduate student who is obsessed with the disappearance of all the ballpoint pens he bought over the years.

Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

It’s a short book, so it’s a short review. Sorry guys!

I’m pretty sure I’m one of the last people in the world to read this. Even my friends, the non-reader ones, have read and loved this. So I thought I better (finally) give it a go.
Unfortunately, it didn’t really live up to all the hype. Not because it’s really bad; I just don’t think my sense of humour is suited to this. It was a little hard to follow. I got Arthur’s part pretty easily, but Zaphod’s was a little bit more confusing. It doesn’t help that there was no reason for anything in this book. It all just came out of absolutely nowhere. In a good way though! I liked that this was completely unpredictable (well, I guess the Improbability Drive could predict it…)
I loved the creativity. You could tell how he’d really thought out all the worlds. I really really want to go travel the galaxy now! It all seems so interesting. Especially knowing that they’re all made in a factory. I wish I could see that; how amazing would that be?
I can’t decide if I’ll read the rest of the “trilogy”. I did enjoy this, but I think my taste is a little more… serious than this book

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

One thought on “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Leave a Reply

