Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging (Georgia Nicolson Diaries #1)

There are six things very wrong with my life:
1. I have one of those under-the-skin spots that will never come to a head but lurk in a red way for the next two years.
2. It is on my nose
3. I have a three-year-old sister who may have peed somewhere in my room.
4. In fourteen days the summer hols will be over and then it will be back to Stalag 14 and Oberfuhrer Frau Simpson and her bunch of sadistic teachers.
5. I am very ugly and need to go into an ugly home.
6. I went to a party dressed as a stuffed olive.

Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging

Oh, how I’ve missed this series! I’m so glad I decided to re-read this. Like the rest of the series, this book had me laughing from start to finish.
Most of it was very relatable, as I’m a teenager in high school too. I’m not as fake as the girls, but I see people all over my school who do things like they do. They worry about their make-up, their hair, what boys think of them. She was a “popular”, not a regular teenager. But despite me not being exactly like them, I have done exactly what Jas did. Stalking a guy you think is cute, doing weird things like going into supermarkets. It’s sad, but it’s exactly what we all do.
The only thing that bothered me was her extreme shallowness – such as liking Robbie just because of his looks, and acting like it was the end of the world when she couldn’t wear make up. Georgia had three boyfriends in this book; the brother of her best friend’s boyfriend, the guy she took kissing lessons off, and the guy who groped her in the street. She didn’t care though, as long as she had a guy.
But, I didn’t read this book for the mature plot. I read it because it’s girly, it’s trashy, and it makes me laugh. I like to read the bizarre situations they get themselves into.
I love this book every time I read it. Now, I just need to make sure I don’t start using their fabbity fab slang like I usually do…

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

Leave a Reply

