Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants

Carmen got the jeans at a thrift shop. They didn’t look all that great: they were worn, dirty, and speckled with bleach. On the night before she and her friends part for the summer, Carmen decides to toss them. But Tibby says they’re great. She’d love to have them. Lena and Bridget also think they’re fabulous. Lena decides that they should all try them on. Whoever they fit best will get them. Nobody knows why, but the pants fit everyone perfectly. Even Carmen (who never thinks she looks good in anything) thinks she looks good in the pants. Over a few bags of cheese puffs, they decide to form a sisterhood and take the vow of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants . . . the next morning, they say good-bye. And then the journey of the pants — and the most memorable summer of their lives — begins.

See it on Goodreads here

Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants

This book was on my TBR for way, way too long. In fact, I even watched the movie first! I am so happy I finally got around to reading this
I fell in love with their friendship right from the beginning. These four lived for each other, and were completely lost when they were apart. I desperately want a friendship like that. They weren’t afraid of anything when they were with each other. Even when they were spread out all over the world, they didn’t stop writing, or talking about each other. I absolutely loved that.
Individually, some of them were less great. Especially Carmen. Well, okay. Just Carmen.
She was SO WHINY. Her dad was newly engaged, to a woman with two kids. So what does Carmen do? Not support her dad. Not make his life any easier. Whine about anything and everything. She did try to talk to him about it. She didn’t ask to leave. She just moped around, and ruined a good holiday for everyone. Yeah, he wasn’t exactly understanding. He did a few things that deserved a punch in the face. But she could have helped herself. I really, REALLY disliked her.
Bee was my favourite. She was so… Vivacious. I’ve always wanted a chance to use that word, and she is the perfect excuse. Bee is afraid of no one. Rules? Pah. What rules? She fell for her soccer coach, and my God she was going to get him. Nothing was going to stand in her way. She had fantastic hair, so she was going to use it. Her ending broke my heart. She lost a little of her spark because of the mistake she made. And that’s not okay! I need my vivacious Bee!
Lena was quite sweet. I got annoyed about how much she went on about her prettiness. I know, the point was she fought against that. But she sure did mention it a lot. I loved her little crush on Kostos. I loved how she wouldn’t do anything brave about it, for logical reasons. Even though they were totally perfect for each other. I also quite liked her relationship with her grandfather. It wasn’t explored much, because he spoke Greek, so conversations were limited. But she really liked him, and looked up to him. Sweet is the only word I can think of to describe her.
Tibby’s story was probably my favourite, even if she wasn’t my favourite character. I lived for the interactions between her and Bailey. Bailey was a little, spunky girl living with cancer. Tibby was so irritated by her to start with. But, of course, Bailey grew on her. How could she not? She irritated me a little in the beginning too, but by the end I just wanted to adopt her. I liked hearing about the suckumentary too. That’s a documentary about things that suck, for those of you who don’t know. It was cool seeing all the people she met. Especially Brian. Ah, Brian. Tibby was angry at the whole world around her, all the time. But with Bailey around, she wasn’t. Fantastic character development!
So. We have the whiny one, the vivacious one, the sweet one, the angry one, and a pair of travelling pants. Plus, of course, a bit of romance, some massive character development, and some heartbreaking losses (I’m not saying who!). Do I need to say more?

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

4 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants

  1. I really enjoyed the movie and always wondered if I’d like the book as well. But I have little patience for whiny characters. Still, I just might give it a try since it seems that you get to know the characters a bit better in the book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It has an especially long time series since I read these books and I do really want to watch the movies to catch back up with these! I do remember loving the friendship between all the friends. But seeing recent reviews of this lots of people find Carmen whiny! I can’t remember clearly enough to know if I agree or not though xD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

