Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Trouble

In this dazzling debut novel, a pregnant teen learns the meaning of friendship—from the boy who pretends to be her baby’s father.
When the entire high school finds out that Hannah Shepard is pregnant via her ex-best friend, she has a full-on meltdown in her backyard. The one witness (besides the rest of the world): Aaron Tyler, a transfer student and the only boy who doesn’t seem to want to get into Hannah’s pants. Confused and scared, Hannah needs someone to be on her side. Wishing to make up for his own past mistakes, Aaron does the unthinkable and offers to pretend to be the father of Hannah’s unborn baby. Even more unbelievable, Hannah hears herself saying “yes.”
Told in alternating perspectives between Hannah and Aaron, Trouble is the story of two teenagers helping each other to move forward in the wake of tragedy and devastating choices. As you read about their year of loss, regret, and hope, you’ll remember your first, real best friend—and how they were like a first love.

Trouble

Good blurb, right? So you’re expecting a good review? Yeah, wrong.

This book was incredibly disappointing. It started off so well; teenage girl gets pregnant, the dad refuses to own up, and her friend decides to pretend its his. Okay, yes, that was strange, but also incredibly kind. I was a little weirded out, but it sort of endeared me to Aaron.

It was pretty much a downward spiral from there.

Aaron’s secret was meant to be a shocking twist, but there were too many hints before it for me to be surprised. I hate predictable plot twists like that. Where is the suspense? I need suspense to care about the characters. He didn’t develop at all after confessing that, he just stated it and it wasn’t really touched on again. With a secret as big as that, you’d think it’d be a bigger deal. Where’s the character development? It made the twist seem so insignificant to the rest of the plot.

I really couldn’t stand the main character, Hannah. She was so fake. And not in a way that makes you think there’s an interesting reason behind it. In a way that made me want to punch her in the face. Hannah, despite being pregnant, cared more about her social life than her baby. I wanted to feel her pain through losing her friends, and beg with her for the dad to get his act together. But to do that, it would actually have to be talked about. It was almost like two books had been muddled up when printing, and the pregnancy story had been lost. I was looking forward to sympathising with Hannah’s pain. But it became some fluffy teen rubbish; not something you can relate to at all.

Hannah’s friend was completely unrealistic too – seriously, is anyone really that evil? Rude to Hannah, sure, clawing her way up the social ladder, fine. Even though I’ve seen it a million times, it’s something a lot of people would do. But posting Aaron’s secret all over the school? What is this, an American teen movie? Not even a good one at that! No one would do that. I don’t care how much you hate someone, or want something. NO ONE would do something that cruel to someone else.

I don’t know what else I can say to warn you away from this. Seriously, don’t do it. It may sound good, but, in this case, you absolutely should not judge a book by it’s cover.

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

6 thoughts on “Trouble

  1. This is a great review! I’m going ti play the devil’s advocate for a little bit though, isn’t it realistic that Hannah cares more about her social life than her baby and acts fake? We’re talking about a tennage girl that’s still immature and with a new heavy weight on her shoulders. Sadly, I’ve met plenty of teenage mothers who are like that (and bunch that aren’t, but they don’t cancel out the ones that are). So, isn’t it actually realistic? Does a book being truly realistic unable us to like the characters sometimes because we expect them to be something they don’t necessarily have to be? AM I MAKING SENSE? Lol I hope I am!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I love people like you. Yes, argue! 🙂 I guess I don’t know anyone who has gone through that, I’m just basing it off how I would act. But I’m not incredibly focused on my social life compared to other things anyway (you can tell by my BOOK BLOG). So maybe it is realistic. Maybe there really are people that need a punch in the face as much as Hannah

      Like

  2. The cover caught my attention (what is with all that sperm floating around? :O). The blurb sounded so good, too bad it was disappointing though! :/ I somewhat agree with The Bookish God, maybe it is realistic depending on the reader. I know plenty of mature teenage single mothers that know their priorities and think of their baby/babies first. I’ve also met others that cared more about their social status BUT many of them grew to understanding their responsibilities and mature. So even if the character is fake/bad/mean/evil in the beginning, I do expect for their character to evolve by the end of the book. However, in this case, Hannah will remain unlikeable and selfish character, as the start, which would leave me unsympathetic towards her and angry at the book. It’s probably best I don’t read this, haha. Anyway, nice review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, there does need to be some character development! But I hated Hannah the entire book. I know, it looks so good. But that’s why I’m here, to warn you away from books that are secretly terrible 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh man, such a shame you couldn’t like this one! I have it on my TBR because I read an excerpt at some point and FELL IN LOVE with the idea when I read the synopsis. I am still eager to try it but will lower my expectations somewhat.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

