Posted in Discussions, Posts

Book Discussion: How To Pick a Book

I did my first reading discussion last week, and I have to say it was a lot more serious than this one. So this post is for all of you who stand at the library and wander in circles for ages, or who impulse buy books because you’re desperate for something to read.

Picking a good book can be hard. Sometimes you’re in a reading slump. Sometimes you’re in a particular mood for that special kind of book. Sometimes you want to re-read all your favourites. But what do you do if you can’t find that perfect book?

I’m a pretty speedy book chooser. And I do it like this (depending on how lost I’m feeling)

  1. Look at all the pretty covers. I know, I just said don’t impulse buy pretty books. But if you’re at a library, then go for it! Maybe it’ll suck, but maybe it’ll be amazing. This was basically what all of you picked for the prettiest book you own:Winner's Curse
  2. Go through your book recommendations. Your friends (in real life or online) really do know what they’re talking about. If they’ve recommended it, it’s bound to be good, right?
  3. TBR jar. I thought I’d forget about this, but it’s actually useful! If you don’t know how it works, have a look over here. No, they don’t have to look like that, but it’s encouraged 😛 a jar of books
  4. Pick up an unfinished series. You know you have them. Series that you really loved, but for some reason completely forgot about finishing. I have loads, and just never get around to picking them back up
  5. Try to finish those year-long challenges. I always forget about these, and end up frantically trying to find a book starting with x on December 31st. So get them out of the way early! 
  6. Write a book review. No, hear me out! When you write a review, you go in depth about what you like and don’t like. So if you know that you love assassins, you can go find another book with an assassin in it
  7. Read something that’ll be a movie soon. That way you don’t feel like a traitor to the book nerd name when you’re sitting in the movie theatre. Plus, how else are you meant to annoy your friends? 
  8. Write a list of mini-categories to choose from. For example, I’m doing the 105 challenge, so I have one for every one of those categories. Or you could write down “a contemporary” if you tend to not read them, or “a book with a cat”. This sort of connects with both your TBR jar (if you wanted to put them in there) and your book reviews

So, there’s how I do it! Well, sometimes anyway. How do you choose what to read next? Do you do any of these? Have you tried and failed with one of my methods? Like last week, I want to know ALL your thoughts. Every single little one, no matter how insignificant you think it is

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

8 thoughts on “Book Discussion: How To Pick a Book

  1. It sometimes takes me awhile to pick a book and sometimes it isn’t even really a question of what I will read next. I guess it kind of depends on my mood. And I do love pretty books. That is pretty much how I operate at the library. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really need to start a TBR jar. It’s so ridiculous aka awesome. My local book store has book signings, so I try to read books by those authors before the signing – to get the most out of the experience. These are great tips. I’ve signed up for a gazillion reading challenges this year…so, that helps. & it so helps to write book reviews. Sometimes I’ll gone a “theme” binge and then write a list of all my favorite books in that “theme”.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s surprisingly helpful 🙂 I wish we had book signings!! I’ve never been to one, and I’ve only heard of one I wish I had gone to. Where do you live? Theme binges are the best. And lists are so helpful 🙂

      Like

  3. Great post! I love all your advice 🙂 usually I just pick up whatever I feel like next after reading the synopsis – there’s no insightful way :p if I’m at a bookstore I’ll only pick up books I’ve heard of before and if something else peaks my interest I’ll look it up on my phone or at home later

    Most recent post on Enchanted by YA: http://enchantedbyya.blogspot.com/2015/03/review-aranya-shapeshifter-dragons-1-by.html

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

