Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

City of Ashes (Mortal Instruments #2)

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.
To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

City of Ashes

Yes, this book was just as good as the first one in the series! Or, dare I say it, better. Sorry about the short review, but sometimes there just isn’t lots to say. 
There were still the same flaws. Jace is still a tosser (I love that word) but with his “soft” side. Okay, I did like him a little bit more in this book. He really does love Clary, it’s so sweet! I’m still in denial about that thing that’s not letting them be together. Even though I want Clary and Simon to be together, I just can’t let Clary and Jace be apart.
That’s what’s great about this book. There are at least 4 different couples – Clary and Jace, Clary and Simon, Jace and Alec, Alec and Magnus – and I somehow ship all of them. I don’t know how. You wouldn’t think it’d be possible, but it is.
Valentine was a lot more interesting in this book. He did some major attacks that were a lot more intense than the ones in City of Bones. The way he was trying to get the Soul Sword to do it’s thing was exactly what I look for in a bad guy. Unnecessary killing, ruthless killing, overly violent killing, impossible killing, and revenge killing. What more do you need? I know you’re meant to hate the bad guy, but I really like Valentine!
I love Clary’s power. I do want to know how she got it, but I’ll let that slide for now. I don’t want to say what it is, so I don’t spoil it for you. Just know that it’s awesome. Better than Jace’s one, that’s for sure. Did Jace’s one make Alec somehow even more adorable? I don’t think so.
A lot of the time when I read a series I don’t read it all in a row. I don’t know why, but I like to visit other worlds in between. Not this one. I was only halfway through this book when I reserved the third one. I CAN’T WAIT for it to get here. I love love love this series, and for once want to binge read them all in a week. I can take a break off school, right?

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

11 thoughts on “City of Ashes (Mortal Instruments #2)

  1. I loved this review! I shared pretty much all of your opinions. What were your thoughts on the Seelie Queen? She’s one of my favorite characters. Also, I was wondering if you were going to read The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices in publication order. I think if you read all of them in publication order, it makes City of Heavenly Fire even better! I know some people don’t like to read two different series at once, but I didn’t know.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She is pretty cool 🙂 I read Clockwork Angel, but it was pretty much EXACTLY the same as City of Bones. So I might read them once I’ve finished the Mortal Instruments, but until I’ve finished I’ll just get too mad 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

