Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Throne of Glass

Meet Celaena Sardothien.
Beautiful. Deadly.
Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake: she got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?

Throne of Glass

I really need to listen to bloggers who rave about books. I always expect them to let me down, but so often they don’t. Like with this one! It’s just as fantastic as everyone said!
From page one I loved Celaena. Usually, I hate the main character. It’s almost like a rule for me. But not her. She’s one of my most favourite characters EVER. Main or otherwise. She’s incredibly sassy, for one. People insult her, but she insults them right back. I’d be absolutely petrified of them, especially considering the awful death camp they sent her to. They could send her right back in a heartbeat. But she sat up, literally on her high horse, and waved at all the crowds at the castle like she didn’t have a care in the world. I wish I had even an eighth of her courage.
She wasn’t perfect, even though she so easily could have been. She had her flaws, like the scars on her back. She was terrified of the King. They were good flaws, not annoying hero flaws. To me, it made her that much more spectacular.
The competition was the best bit. I loved all the battles and tests they had to do. In a creepy way, I loved the gruesome deaths too. Not the REALLY gruesome ones, just the ones who died in the tests. Even though Celaena was the main character, I really did worry she wasn’t going to win. The king had it in for her, that worried me.
Even the romance was done well, when it could have gone so terribly wrong. Love triangles are practically never good. But somehow, this one worked. I didn’t want to slap her in the face for leading one of them on, because she didn’t really. Maybe a little subconsciously, but she wanted to be their friends Both the guys sorted of blended together to me. Even though they were totally different, I couldn’t keep their names straight in my head. But don’t let that put you off, it may have just been me being dumb. I really liked how the romance was ended too. Again, there was massive potential for me to get mad. But I didn’t!
My only problem (there has to be something, doesn’t there?) was the murder mystery stuff. To me, it wasn’t that much of a mystery as to who was doing the killing. I didn’t know how, so I was surprised by that. But there was one character that really stood out as a suspect to me. Maybe it wasn’t that obvious to other people? I don’t know, I just wasn’t very interested in that part of the plot.
But I got over that. Because CELAENA. Definitely read it! Believe the hype! You won’t regret it, I pinky swear

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

8 thoughts on “Throne of Glass

  1. I just finished reading this with another blogger and I LOVED IT!! I need the second book now, my review should be up soon and I’m pretty sure I won’t even be able to form proper sentences because I loved it so much, and, as you said, CALAENA

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

