Posted in Posts, Uncategorized

What’s Your Book Nerd Score?

I found this over on Barnes and Noble. You add up your points (one for every thing that’s true). The person with the most points wins! I don’t know what you win exactly. Maybe just fame? Awe from me? 

Girl and Bookshelf

  1. You currently own more than 20 books.
  2. You currently own more than 50 books.
  3. You currently own more than 100 books.
  4. You amassed so many books you switched to an ereader
  5. You read so much you have a ton of books AND an ereader.
  6. You have a book-organization system no one else understands.
  7. You’re currently reading more than one book.
  8. You read every single day.
  9. You’re reading a book right now, as you’re taking this book nerd quiz.
  10. Your essentials for leaving the house: wallet, phone, keys, and a book.
  11. You’ve pulled an all-nighter reading a book.
  12. You did not regret it for a second and would do it again.
  13. You’ve figured out how to incorporate books into your workout. Hahaha, workout 😛
  14. You’ve declined invitations to social activities in order to stay home and read.
  15. You view vacation time as “catch up on reading” time.
  16. You’ve sat in a bathtub full of tepid water with prune-y skin because you were engrossed in a book.
  17. You’ve missed your stop on the bus or the train because you were engrossed in a book.
  18. You’ve almost tripped over a pothole, sat on a bench with wet paint, walked into a telephone pole, or narrowly avoided other calamities because you were engrossed in a book.
  19. You’ve laughed out loud in public while reading a book.
  20. You’ve cried in public while reading a book (it’s okay, we won’t tell).
  21. You’re the one everyone goes to for book recommendations.
  22. You take your role in recommending books very seriously and worry about what books your friends would enjoy.
  23. Once you recommend a book to a friend, you keep bugging them about it.
  24. If your friend doesn’t like the book you recommended, you’re heartbroken.
  25. And you judge them. A little bit.
  26. In fact, whenever you and a friend disagree about a book you secretly wonder what is wrong with them.
  27. You’ve vowed to convert a nonreader into a reader.
  28. And you’ve succeeded.
  29. You’ve attended book readings, launches, and signings.
  30. You own several signed books. I have one. Which isn’t nearly enough. I’m seriously jealous of everyone with more!!
  31. You would recognize your favorite authors on the street
  32. In fact, you have.
  33. If you could have dinner with anybody in the world, you’d choose your favorite writer.
  34. You own a first-edition book.
  35. You know what that is and why it matters to bibliophiles.
  36. You tweet, post, blog, or talk about books every day.
  37. You have a “favorite” literary prize. I don’t actually… What would you recommend? 
  38. And you read the winners of that prize every year.
  39. You’ve recorded every book you’ve ever read and what you thought of it. Not EVERY book, but a lot
  40. You have a designated reading nook in your home.
  41. You have a literary-themed T-shirt, bag, tattoo, or item of home décor.
  42. You gave your pet a literary name.
  43. You make literary references and puns nobody else understands.
  44. You’re a stickler for spelling and grammar, even when you’re just texting.
  45. You’ve given books as gifts for every occasion: birthdays, Valentine’s Day, graduations, Tuesdays…
  46. Whenever someone asks what your favorite book is, your brain goes into overdrive and you can’t choose just one. You end up naming twelve books.
  47. You love the smell of books.
  48. You’ve binge-read an entire series or an author’s whole oeuvre in just a few days.
  49. You’ve actually felt your heart rate go up while reading an incredible book.
  50. When you turn the last page of a good book, you feel as if you’ve finally come up for air and returned from a great adventure.
  51. BONUS POINTS: For every friend who sent you this quiz (because they know you’re a huge book nerd), add one point.

I got 40 points! I don’t know if I’m proud or alarmed… I know you all get at least one point, because I’ll say I’ve sent it to you for number 51. Do this, and let me know how many you get! 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

15 thoughts on “What’s Your Book Nerd Score?

  1. I really want to do it *gets excited* only to discover how nerd I am. I completely understand why you got such a high score, here we all love books but other people might.
    From my experience, when I say to people that I own more than 100, they look at me strangely, dunno

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This list is funny but I don’t know how accurate it is. I’ve always considered myself a bibliophile, but I still only got 17 of these.

    But then I don’t have an e-reader, don’t make a habit of taking my wallet when I leave the house, never get invited to social activities, and I wish I lived in an area where I could meet some of my favorite authors.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I said I don’t go to social activities, not that I don’t want to. There is a difference, believe it or not. I am not anti-social. I am an introvert, there is a difference and I don’t think a lot of people (particularly the Kind I see in discussions of Elsa from Frozen) get that.

        Growing up homeschooled in an isolated suburb you don’t get invited to social events. I did tag along to a family gathering my aunt was attending in Illinois recently. I got the chance to meet new people, have fun discussions, and I enjoyed myself a lot but I still don’t get invited to social events now, in school. I have only asked someone for their phone number once and got turned down. I tried sending a friendly message to someone in my drivers’ ed class once. They acted like it never happened and on the last day we all just said goodbye and went off to never see each other again. I have some people I sit next to at lunchbreak, that’s all.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, that’s horrible! I guess you’re hanging around with the wrong people. Some people probably think you’re annoying, for whatever reason, but there are other people who love to read too, and will have the same interests as you. If you’re hanging out with people who don’t invite you to hang out then they’re not the kind of friends you’re looking for

        Like

  3. Well I don’t live in the same town as the people I know at school. I don’t think the people in driver’s ed were there to make friends, and I don’t have much opportunity at home. I don’t feel comfortable walking up to random people and starting conversations, and whenever I have I usually haven’t met them again. And when I have they haven’t remembered me and it just ends up being embarrassing. I don’t feel comfortable initiating situations and I fear uncertainty. I am never afraid of what has happened or what is happening, only what could happen and what will happen.

    It doesn’t have anything to do with me liking to read, either. That has never come up. As for the person who wouldn’t give me their phone number I had only met her at the bus stop before and she agreed to sit by me at lunch. We didn’t know each other well at all and I thought she was nice just to make the offer. Even if my arrangement of just sitting with certain people and knowing them at lunch isn’t very good, we don’t have any clubs at school or any other time we can talk to each other in school, so it’s the best thing I have sad to say.

    Like

    1. Is there anyone at your school you live near? Do you board there or something?
      Maybe she was just a bit alarmed you wanted her number straight away. Generally you have to wait a while to become good friends before you do things like that. If you’re afraid of talking to people in real life, try internet friends! I know it’s not the same, and doesn’t help your social life, but it can be a lot less scary talking to people over here. And who knows, you might find someone who lives near you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My father drives me there every weekday except Monday.

        The only reason I asked for the number was some other idiot kept goading me into doing it and I reported him to the administrator afterwards to find he was in the process of being expelled. Yet for some reason he’s still there because his grades are improving and the school seems very reluctant to get rid of anyone (it’s purpose is basically giving every reject and drop-out a high school diploma).

        It isn’t that I’m afraid to talk to people, it’s that I only have lunch to talk to these people and none of them even come to lunch every day, and there are only 4 of these lunch days a week. And you can’t just walk up to some random person on the street outside your house and make them be your friend.

        I do have a few Internet friends mostly from blogging. How exactly does this tend to happen that you have true friends over the Internet, though, who you can talk about anything with?

        Like

Leave a Reply

