Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Legend

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem. From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths – until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets. See it here on Goodreads Legend First, to everyone who told me I was insane for not reading this, I’m sorry. I really should have listened. I loved this way more than I expected to. I kind of figured it was going to be a lame dystopia, with a predictable love triangle, and an unconvincing world. Just like every other dystopia novel. It’s even a trilogy! But oh, I was mistaken. Yes, we had slight Insta love. Let’s be honest, June liked him for his looks. He was damn fine, but still! And Day certainly thought she was pretty. So it made me a little mad that that was the first thing that made them start becoming close. But actually, they did fall for each other relatively slowly. With June going undercover to get to know him, they got to spend a lot of time together, and I’m glad of that. Plus she had a legitimate reason to fall in love with him. He was, in a way, opening her eyes to a whole new world. It was the same one she was living in, but he lived in a part of it she didn’t know existed. He knew all its flaws, and she thought it was perfect. That, in my opinion, was kind of beautiful. Besides, how could you not fall in love with Day? I certainly did. He had that cute protectiveness over his family, which I always love. Even his older brother, when usually you’d think it’d be the other way around. He stood up for what he believed in. Even if that was just something as little as wanting to be alive, it was still great that he fought. While most of the stuff I love about him isn’t exactly unique, I forgive him. He’s really sweet, and when he kissed June… *melts* Ugh, get over here and kiss me like that!! I liked the world Lu created. The Trial was a good idea. It weeded the weak from the strong, which, when you’re at war, is pretty useful. But then what j didn’t get was the Plague. So the strongest from the Trial got the best jobs, and best universities. The weaker ones had to live in the poor areas, and get lower paying jobs etc. The Plague was then sent into the poor areas and killed off the weakest living them. But why? If the weak have already been separated, what’s the point in killing them? I think they wanted to use the disease on the people they were fighting, but it was sort of said that they want to kill the weaker ones too. If they were keeping too many weak people, why not just raise the pass score on the Trial? I’m thinking that’s something that will be explained or discovered in one of the later books, but I wanted to know now! I really liked Lu’s writing style. I really have a clear image of the new world she’s created. She’s made characters that I really do care about. That’s so rare for a main character! Usually I have my fingers crossed they’ll die and a secondary character will take over. But this time, I actually want them to stay! Day is even my favourite character! That, to me, just shows how impressive her writing is. Basically, I can’t wait to get my hands on the sequel. Hurry up library, give it to me!!!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

5 thoughts on “Legend

Leave a Reply

