Posted in Posts, Tags

Reader Problems Tag

I found this tag over at Find Me At the Library, and it was originally created by About To Read on Youtube.

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

There’s a frightening thought… I guess I would pick the ones with the best reviews, then the ones I want to finish a series. Then I would hyperventilate. And then I’d go to the library and find the ones with the least reservations, or cheap ones I find at the bookshop

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

Oh, this is one of my worst habits! I keep trying to suffer through it, which is so dumb. Especially if I own it, I have a rule not to get rid of books until I’ve read them once or twice. Recently I watched a tv show that said if it’s not good after 50 pages, you should give up. So I try to stick to that if it’s a library book

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

Luckily for me my summer holidays happen in December, so I have lots of free time. I’d probably cheat a little and read shorter books, and spend all my free time reading (which is pretty much all day). However, my exams finish early on in December, so I’d be getting hardly any reading done then!

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?Non Matching Covers

I hate that!! I’d buy them anyway, but they’d go in the shelf I can’t see from my bed so I can pretend not to notice it

5.  You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

When I was younger, I used to cry at anything and everything that went wrong. So now, I’m a master and stopping myself from crying. You just look at the light! I don’t know why, but looking at the light helps. So I’d do that, calm myself down, read a few more pages, and repeat

6.  A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?!?!?

I’d re-read the synopsis, and some reviews. I’d read a one star and a five star, so I can remember what I loved and hated. Then if I got half way through and was still super confused, I’d re-read the book

7. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

Book In A Box“I don’t own it anymore”. Or “It was a library book”. Because the people I’d let into my room I’d trust to lend books to. Or I’d say it wasn’t very good, to put them off wanting it. Or, like the picture, padlock them in a box…

8. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

Oh, those are the worst!!! I re-read Harry Potter. You can never go wrong with Harry. Sometimes I read the whole series, but usually I read one or two and can get back into other books. That, or I start spending my spare time writing and catching up on tv shows

9. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

I always forget about new releases, so luckily I’m good at avoiding buying too many. With Skulduggery Pleasant, I bought every book as it came out, because I owned the rest of the series. But with stand alones, or the first in a series, I’d go to the library probably

10. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

It depends. If they were second hand, or from a bargain bin, I’ll add it to my ever-growing pile, and just wait until I’m in the mood for it. If I went out specially to a proper bookshop, I’ll probably read it as soon as I finish the book I’m currently reading, and the books that are due back to the library soon

That was fun! I tag all of you, as usual. But more specifically I tag people who comment on here a lot:

The Bookish Universe

Molly Mortensten

SumeetK

Olivia

Swxftbooks

Sorry if I missed you, I really do love you! These three just comment the most. Send me a link if you do the tag!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

10 thoughts on “Reader Problems Tag

  1. Looking at the light?! I have no idea why but that ALWAYS makes me tear up. When I was really little, my eyes used to water at everything and everyone always assumed I was crying. So embarrassing. >.> These days I barely ever shed a tear. hehe. Oh, that is so cool you own all the Skulduggery’s! I only own one, but I’m fast realising it’s a series I need to buy. x) They are soooo good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

