Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

City of Bones

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?
This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…
Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

City of Bones

I read this years ago, and thought it was okay. But everyone I know goes on about how great it is, and with the last one coming out last year, I figured I should try again and read the rest of the series.
IT WAS SO GOOD! Everyone was right, it’s amazing. I was hooked from start to finish. As a general rule, I hate main characters. Clary, though, was just like me. You know, a normal teenager, stuck in a fantasy world, and confused out of her mind. She was someone I could relate to, not some idiot I wanted to hit every five minutes. The line “He raised an eyebrow. I’d always wanted to be able to do that” was so me I laughed for five minutes straight. It just summed up me and my friends.
My problem was… *holds up shield* *puts on bulletproof vest* …Jace. I know, okay, you all think he’s a god personified. But for me, he wasn’t that wonderful. It wasn’t that I disliked him. It’s just that he didn’t treat Clary very well, and I had higher hopes for him. He’s sarcastic, and that’s kind of cool, but he’s never serious. I do need a little of that. He has the sad back story, so we can all feel sorry for him, and fall for him even more. He’s ‘vulnerable’. He acts ‘manly’ but he’s ‘soft’. Quotation marks, because every love interest has those traits. I’m starting to get really over it! Although, in his defence (slightly), the movie didn’t do him justice. I bet he’s gorgeous. But I can’t see myself falling for him any time soon.
Alec was my favourite. Oh, I want to be his best friend. He’s adorable, and all sad, and he thinks people won’t love him, but they will! I’m so sure they will, he’s wonderful.
The best part of this book was that the plot twists weren’t obvious. I’m sick of books where I can tell from page 2 how it’s going to end up. But this one genuinely shocked me at the end. That was not who I expected the bad guy to be (including Valentine’s gang), and definitely not how I expected the romance to end up! It can’t be true, right? I know authors are mean (I write, I’m just as bad) but surely no one can be THAT mean!
I think that’s all I have to say about this book… No, don’t shake your heads at me, I’m kidding! I haven’t talked about Simon!

Clary and Simon He’s perfect, how can anyone forget about him? “Jesus!” “No, it’s just me, though we have been mistaken.” And his love for Clary was beautiful. I wish someone loved me like that. Even though she wants to be friends, for the most part (I’m trying hard not to spoil it…) he never gives up. And that’s lovely. Like Jace has everything you could possibly want in a guy (in other people’s opinion) but does he care? Hell no he doesn’t!
I was wrong to not like this at first. To all my friends who recommended it (and all you people on here who shunned me for not reading it), I’m sorry. I should’ve listened. Now, to persuade myself not to spend money on buying the sequel…

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

10 thoughts on “City of Bones

  1. I read this book last year, and I thought it was good but it didn’t really connect with me. However I have read the 2nd and 3rd book and I think they get even better. Simon is so adorable!

    Like

  2. I definitely agree with you, except I’m completely, unashamedly in love with Jace and there’s nothing I can do about that! I’m really happy you decided to try this book again. The Mortal Instruments is one of my favourite series 🙂

    Like

    1. Yay, I can’t wait!! City of Ashes is waiting for me at the library, I need to stop having a life so I can go get it 😛 I’ll check out your post in the morning, I probably shouldn’t carry on blogging at nearly midnight…

      Like

Leave a Reply

