Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Sundae Girl by Cathy Cassidy

Jude’s family are crazy, quirky, bizarre . . . her mum brings her nothing but trouble and her dad thinks he’s Elvis! All she wants is a hassle-free life – but it’s not easy when she’s chasing a trail of broken promises. Things go from bad to worse, but could the floppy-haired boy from school be her knight on shining rollerblades . . . ?

Sundae Girl

If you’re looking for a light, happy read, this is it. It took me a day to read, and that’s not all in one go. You know, procrastinating on the internet, going out and meaning to buy clothes, etc etc. Despite it being short, I adored it.

Let’s start with Carter. Because holy moly I LOVE CARTER! He is the absolute cutest kid I’ve ever laid eyes on. If I was 13, I would want him to take me on dates. As it is, I’m happy with being his best friend. And shipping him and Jude like mad. Here, let me convince you of his adorableness. Valentine’s Day. Carter has been crushing (very noticeably) on Jude for a while now, so we expect him to do something. And what does he do, you ask? He sneaks little lollies,Candy Conversation Hearts for Valentine's Day with messages on them – kiss me, hug me, I love u – into her books, and bag, and locker, and even her boots after sport. I mean, what more could you possibly ask for? I loved how he refused to give up, no matter how many times Jude refused him. He was by far the best bit of this book. Although, I would’ve liked a little more detail about those two. He just liked her, and that was that. He seemed like the kind of guy that gets bored easily (roller-skates and BMXing, for example). What made her the exception?

While we had the light-hearted Carter, it wasn’t all fun and girly. Jude’s Mum was the centre of the plot. She was, although she wouldn’t admit it, an alcoholic. She denied it furiously, and even her parents liked to pretend it wasn’t happening. But it was. She made scenes, she embarrassed Jude, she treated her parents and her boyfriend horribly. But she was what made the book more real. She gave a reason for all the other plot bits that wouldn’t have made sense. Plus, she made me like Jude, because I felt so sorry for her. I could go on about this, but I really don’t want to ruin it for you. Because you are going to read it, right?

The only thing I’d change is the length. It was meant to be a short, sweet book. But I really wanted more detail. I wanted to know if their happy ever after really lasted. I wanted to know what Giovanni (the Mum’s boyfriend) did in his spare time, and how they met, and all those sorts of things. I wanted to know more about the grandparents. Really, I wanted more depth. However, that’s not to say it wasn’t still amazing! A perfect book to get out of a reading slump, or when you just don’t want to think. 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

Leave a Reply

