Posted in Best Of, Posts

Best of Young Adult (#4)

I’m not a very adventurous reader. I like to read YA books, and that’s it. Hardly anything else. However, within YA I read (at least I think I do) lots of different genres. So here’s my top five for each YA genre I’ve read from. This is my fourth one…

History

1) Aquarius by Jill Brassell. I love historical fiction about my own country. I have a whole series about them, but this one was always my favourite. It was just so much more fun than the others! I wanted to go live on a commune, but that probably isn’t very practical…

2) The Help by Kathryn Stockett. This is one of those rare books where the movie is just as good. It makes me want to hit someone when I see how terribly they treat everyone, ugh. And always remember: “You is kind. You is smart. You is important.”

3) When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit by Judith Kerr. This book was AMAZING. It broke my itty bitty heart, and still does. I leant it to my friend, and thought I lost it, and she returned it to me about 3 years later… It was like Christmas came early, I was so excited! 

4) Dolphin Crossing by Jill Paton Walsh. I have a heart of steel most of the time. But this? This made me cry. Weep like a little girl in fact. Those two boys were wonderful, I couldn’t bear to see them hurt. 

5) I Am David by Anne Holm. I read this one too young, and got bored half way through. But then I re-read it when I was older, and… Okay, I cried. I know I just said I never cry, but this one was so sad! It’s literally falling apart, which is why I haven’t re-read again since then

Honorary mention: Two Brothers by Ben Elton. This one isn’t actually YA, but it’s one of the best historical books I’ve ever read, so it had to be on here! Seriously, I can’t say enough about how incredible it was

That one was surprisingly hard to narrow down! But there, I did it. As usual, tell me if you disagree, or want to recommend one for me to add. 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

Leave a Reply

