Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Where She Went (If I Stay #2)

It’s been three years since the devastating accident . . . three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard’s rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future – and each other.

Told from Adam’s point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I Stay, Where She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.

Where She Went

For those of you who didn’t read my review of If I Stay, here it is summarised: I hated it. But loads of people have said that the sequel was so much better. Adam was definitely the highlight of If I Stay, so I figured they probably knew what they were talking about.

Wrong Gif

Adam lost all of his original charm. This book is set three years – I repeat, THREE YEARS – after Mia broke up with Adam. Believe me, I get that he loved her. I thought his love for her was beautiful. In fact, I’ll even allow him a year to get over her. But three years? Three years and he’s still constantly thinking about her? It’s a bit pathetic in my opinion. It’s not romantic, it’s sad. Not awww sad. Pathetic sad. 

After the break up, Adam’s career took off. Insanely. He’s a massive rock star, the tabloids love him, he has buckets (what do you measure fans in? Buckets? Truckloads?) of fans. But poor Adam doesn’t like any of the rock star lifestyle he worked so hard for. He doesn’t like the crowds. Poor baby, he has so many girls fawning over him. 

Excuse me while I vomit.

He treats his girlfriend Bryn terribly. Why would you get a girlfriend when you love someone else? For a while, he carried around a magazine clipping of his ex girlfriend. If my boyfriend was doing that, I would slap him silly. That’s just horrible! He’s pretty clear he doesn’t like her all that much, and he goes on about her all the time. It made me so mad.

Right, okay, let’s try to stop complaining about Adam. It wasn’t just a weak character that let this book down. Because I’ve read countless books with awful main characters. I don’t even like Harry Potter that much! The plot was completely predictable. Adam goes to see Mia perform, and that’s it. That’s all you need to know. I don’t want to spoil it for you if you plan to read it (seriously, don’t though). But can you see how it’s going to end? I could from that scene.

I did like hearing about exactly what happened after the accident. Forman told it in bits, doing flashbacks at points during the book. I would’ve preferred it if that’s all the book was about, but I’ll take what I can get. Mia was horrible, Mike from the band was horrible, and Adam broke down because of it. Maybe he had a genuine mental illness; or maybe he was just over reacting to things. Either way, it was fun to watch. Well, compared to the rest of the book.

Really, Ted and Robin best describe my feelings of the book. Please, don’t put yourself through this pain!

major-disappointment

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

4 thoughts on “Where She Went (If I Stay #2)

  1. Ha, I guess you really didn’t like this one! I didn’t hate it, but I also didn’t think it measured up to If I Stay, and it was hard to get past the disappointment of finding out that Mia and Adam were apart for so long.

    Like

Leave a Reply

