Posted in Best Of, Posts

Best of Young Adult (#3)

I’m not a very adventurous reader. I like to read YA books, and that’s it. Hardly anything else. However, within YA I read (at least I think I do) lots of different genres. So here’s my top five for each YA genre I’ve read from. This is my third one…

DYSTOPIA

Print

These are based mostly on the world that’s been created, because it was just easier that way. And yes, I know it’s similar to fantasy! 

  1. Maze Runner series by James Dashner. Well, okay, I lie, I loved the writing in this one too. But the world was awesome too. I just need to read the third one!
  2. The Selection by Kiera Cass. Note I didn’t sat THE SERIES. Because book one America – greatest heroine in a long time. Book two? Meh. Book three? GUN, PLEASE. I love the idea of a competition to get the Prince though. Sign me up!
  3. Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness. There aren’t enough words for how much I loved this.Chaos Walking The whole idea about being able to read people’s thoughts is amazing. And a world without girls? How did they manage?
  4. Tomorrow When the War Began series by John Marsden. Being a New Zealander, we have a mutual hate with Australians (sorry guys!). But I forgave these characters. Especially Homer. Plus it was one of those books that could actually happen in real life, which I like. 
  5. Bumped by Megan McCafferty. A lot of people didn’t like this. I’m either unique, or read it back when I was less critical. It had flaws, believe me, but it was such a cool idea. Only kids can have babies. These parents are practically selling their children! It’s so interesting

As always, tell me what you disagree with, or what you think I should add. And if you want, tell me what genre to do next!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

7 thoughts on “Best of Young Adult (#3)

  1. My favorite YA trilogies will always be Hunger Games and Divergent. Have you read the Delirium series? That is also a good one. For me, the Maze Runner series was just okay. I think the second book was probably my favorite, but it’s not one of my favorite series. Great post!

    Like

    1. Allegiant and Mockingjay weren’t that good, so that let the series down for me. I haven’t read Delirium yet, I really want to! I get annoyed at all the “mystery” around the Maze Trials, but I still find it interesting 🙂

      Like

  2. The Chaos Walking trilogy has been on my to-read list for a couple of years now, and I keep hearing how amazing it is! I really will try to at least start these books this year. I really like your Best of YA features — looking forward to seeing what genre you feature next!

    Like

  3. Wait. There are NO girls in the Chaos Walking series? Please tell me this is not true. I need feminine characters!!!!! Oh boy. I was going to buy this next week…but now I’m not so sure anymore. I agree for The Maze Runner! Such a good book!

    Like

  4. Ohh God. All the series I want to read. I know shame on me why I haven’t read them yet. Thank you for the brief reviews, they’re always helpful. By the way, have you read the Uglies series? I have read them and I’m curious what you think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

