Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Scorch Trials (Maze Runner #2)

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end.
Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But WICKED isn’t done yet. Phase Two has just begun. The Scorch.
There are no rules. There is no help. You either make it or you die.
The Gladers have two weeks to cross through the Scorch—the most burned-out section of the world. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.
Friendships will be tested. Loyalties will be broken. All bets are off.
There are others now. Their survival depends on the Gladers’ destruction—and they’re determined to survive.

Scorch Trials

The sequel wasn’t as good as the first book, but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t still amazing. When I finished the Maze Runner, all I wanted was to find out everything WICKED had been doing. And this book finally gave us some answers!
Thomas started getting his memories back, which was very helpful. The boys also got to meet Aris, someone who claimed to be from another Maze. While his whole situation gave me a load more questions, he also answered some things for us. It was easier to work out exactly what WICKED was trying to research when you compared it to Aris and his group of girls.
The Cranks helped even more. They had lived through the world’s slow destruction. They all had the Flare. The ones who weren’t past the Gone (as in, hadn’t gone completely crazy) were willing to explain things to Thomas and his group. Thank goodness for Cranks! I don’t know how I would’ve worked out anything without them.
Well, sort of thank goodness for Cranks. While we were getting incredibly helpful answers to our millions of questions, that didn’t make the book as great as I hoped. Compared to the first one, this book was almost scary! The Cranks, especially the ones at the party, freaked me out. Those silver balls were gruesome. Even Rat Man scared me a little. While the last book did have Grievers, they didn’t scare me nearly as much as the things in this book.

Teresa was all wrong as well. When she explained it at the end, I understood it wasn’t her fault. But everyone else managed to stick together and support each other. I get it, she was afraid she’d be killed if she didn’t do what WICKED told her to do. But she seemed to enjoy it way too much. That’s what bothered me. I don’t trust her much any more. 

Yet again, it ended with a confusing cliffhanger. Everything seems good – well, almost good – and then Dashner throws in that weird ending. It just doesn’t make sense! But it worked. I NEED the next book, ASAP!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

One thought on “Scorch Trials (Maze Runner #2)

Leave a Reply

