Posted in Discussions, Posts

How Do You Set A Reading Challenge?

There are so many reading challenges out there, on blogs and on Goodreads, and wherever else you find books. But how do you set one? How do you make one up, or decide which ones to stick to? As part of the Bookish Nerds Read-a-thon, I’m here to help you!

I end up signing up for loads of different challenges, then freaking out on the 30th of every month because I haven’t finished them. Are any of you the same? The best way I can think to overcome this is to PLAN AHEAD

Plan Ahead

I’ve written a post for all the challenges I plan on doing. That means that I have it there, written down so I can’t forget. This time last year I wasn’t blogging, so hopefully this will help me. 

The next thing is to make sure you’re reading books you want to read. If you only read YA, don’t sign up for an adult book challenge. If you hate romance, don’t decide to ‘give it a go’ when you have pressure on you from other people. This may seem stupid, but I’ve done it too many times to count.

Lastly, remember that the whole world will not end if you don’t manage to complete your challenge. I know, you feel like you’re letting down your team, or your group, or your followers. Trust me, we don’t mind. I’ll be happy for you if you manage to read 200 books starting with your initials, but I’m not going to burn down your house if you can’t do it. It’s just a few books. We don’t mind, honestly. 

Being Bored

Making up your own challenge is much harder. I haven’t had any amazing brainwaves, but that doesn’t mean I can’t help those of you that are completely lost.

Like I said before, make it something you’re interested in. Not your friends, not your followers, YOU. What’s the point in making a challenge you don’t want to stick to yourself?

Put a unique spin on it. It’s no fun stealing an idea from somewhere else. Otherwise why not just do their challenge? This is the bit I struggle with, but it’s definitely achievable. 

However, you can browse for ideas. That’s allowed, don’t worry! Other people are really clever, take inspiration from them. 

Lastly, don’t be afraid to ask for help. I know I would feel so loved if someone sent me a link to a challenge asking “is this a good idea?” I’m not afraid to help out. In the group I run, I have other mods who will tell me if my ideas are good or bad. And I trust that you, my lovely followers, will help me over here. 

So, there are my tips! Hopefully they helped. Anything else you’d like to add? Anything that confused you? Let me know!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

7 thoughts on “How Do You Set A Reading Challenge?

  1. This is a good reminder for all the bloggers out there who do challenges, it’s better to tackle the challenges you’re not pushing on yourself to do just to “try” the genre/book even if you know that you won’t like it!
    I know that I signed up for a few challenges this year so it’s going to be fun to keep up and do! I’m actually pretty excited to continue tackling mine though 🙂

    Like

  2. Nice post! Everything you said made sense 🙂 Simoultaneously like and dislike reading challenges. They can be stressful but fun too. That what is important. They’re not supposed to be there to make you read faster but to encourage you to read more and books you enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never actually done a reading challenge before! I’ve seen them all over, especially now that I’m blogging (over at Cristina’s Book Reviews), but I’ve never done one. I read a lot & I’ve set up reading goals through Goodreads, but no challenges. I’m not sure I could do it because I’m such a moody read — what I read depends on what my mood is. That’s why I’ve never done one because I pick my books based on my mood not a list — I don’t know if I’d finish a challenge, LOL! I thought about trying one this year, trying something different. A friend is trying one & is enjoying it. So, I’ll have to keep these tips in mind if I try one! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A good one to try is something like a pick it for me – someone picks a book for you to read that month off your TBR shelf. That way, it’s only one book, and you can read whatever you want for the rest of the month! 🙂 Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

