Posted in Discussions, Posts

Why I Read

Everyone reads for a lot of different reasons. Mostly, because we love it. Or because we want to escape the real world, and disappear, even just for a few hours, into a world that isn’t our own. I read for these reasons:

matilda-reading

  1. When I was little, I always got a bed time story. My favourite was the Tale of Tom Kitten and Samuel Whiskers. And I guess I realised I couldn’t always be read to – eventually I’d have to do it on my own
  2. Girl and BookshelfBoth my Mum and my Gran are huge readers. So for me, that was what the girls did. The boys built things, or fixed things, the kids played games, and the girls read. It was part of me becoming a grown up, and fitting in with my family
  3. I know this sounds a little bit up myself, but I’m smart. My Dad told me when I came home after my second day of school, I read my whole homework book without any mistakes. So they assumed I memorised it, got me another one, and I managed to read most of that too. So it was a way of proving my smartness
  4. Then we have the obvious reasons. I want to be part of someone else’s world. Not that I don’t like my own, but girl reading book on worldbecause they get adventures, and romance, and magic that I don’t get. I want all of that! But with less death…
  5. I like to stretch my imagination. I like to have to think, and imagine things that aren’t real (and sometimes never will be)
  6. I want to be a writer, so I love to read as inspiration. If they can do it, why can’t I? And seeing some of the awful stuff that gets published… Well, surely I can do better than that? It also gives me tips of what to do and not to do. And in some cases, people to look up toΒ 

So, that’s why I read. Basically, because it makes me happy. I’m sure there are more reasons, but it’d take me forever to list them all.Β 

What about you? Why do you read? When did you start?

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

10 thoughts on “Why I Read

  1. Aside from the typical reasons you mentioned, I have always just loved words. I can’t remember a time before I started writing. I talk a lot. I like to listen to people. I don’t know what it is, but just the words themselves, the way they go together, the stories – it’s always been a big deal to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Another reason is that I find books so much more immersive than film or tv or any kind of media. It’s really easy to get completely lost in another world and to just let the words wash over you (and then miss your stop on the bus…)

    Like

  3. I also want to be a writer, and a way of improving is to read. I never knew how much it could help until well, I started to read a lot. I also grew up in a reading family, so it was just something we always did? But when I realized that I didn’t have to read, I kept on it. I don’t know, I love the escape and the worlds and everything ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, exactly! It’s always good when you realise how much your writing is improving from what you’re reading. And picking up flaws of other writers means you can avoid doing the same things yourself

      Like

  4. I read because I just LOVE meeting new characters, having new book crushes, stumble upon a magical world from which you do not want to escape from. I could not go a day without reading and there are so many different books out there! You can find whatever you like. And, every day, there are more. Now, isn’t that fantastic? πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

