Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth

Percy Jackson isn’t expecting freshman orientation to be any fun. But when a mysterious mortal acquaintance appears on campus, followed by demon cheerleaders, things quickly move from bad to worse.
In this fourth installment of the blockbuster series, time is running out as war between the Olympians and the evil Titan lord Kronos draws near. Even the safe haven of Camp Half-Blood grows more vulnerable by the minute as Kronos’s army prepares to invade its once impenetrable borders. To stop the invasion, Percy and his demigod friends must set out on a quest through the Labyrinth – a sprawling underground world with stunning surprises at every turn.

Battle of the Labyrinth

Another great book in the Percy Jackson series! It started in my favourite way – intense action, this time being attacked by demon cheerleaders. Oh, and bringing back Rachel, the mortal who I loved in the 3rd book.
The whole labyrinth was amazing. Some of the stuff in there (including Luke) sounded terrifying. The Sphinx would have to be my favourite. Turning her usual riddle into a game show was a brilliant idea. I completely agree, the same riddle all the time is boring!
I started to like Rachel a lot. At times, even more than Annabeth. Rachel stood up for herself, and she was unique, and she was more than she first appeared to be. She was so brave with what she did for Percy. I don’t know if I’d ever have the courage to do something that terrifying and selfless.
Annabeth started becoming… Well, a teenage girl. She’s grown up a lot since the first book. She got jealous of Rachel, she got mad at Percy for things that weren’t his fault, she defended Luke even though she must know it’s not rational. He’s evil, she has to start accepting that. I know it must hurt, but he’s really evil. He’s not nice Luke anymore.
Oh, and Nico! Nico was, again, adorable. Even when he was trying to be tough and brave, he wasn’t. He wanted Bianca back, and that was so sweet to watch. Well, and a little heartbreaking. Okay, A LOT heartbreaking.
We got to meet some new gods, which is always fun. Hera, as I expected, was horrible. I didn’t expect to love her, but I did want to like her a little. Poseidon became even cooler at the very end, when he was talking to Percy. Dionysus obviously needed that break from camp, because he started being less of a douche when he got back.
Basically, I loved this book, and can’t wait to read the next one!

What did you all think of the book? Love it, hate it, haven’t read it? What’s the biggest flaw, and the bit you loved the most?

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

5 thoughts on “Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth

  1. Nico is a really cool character and I remember liking him a lot. As we as that, I did like the twist on the Labyrinth that Riordan put in this book. I didn’t mind Annabeth acting more like a teenager, it just brings us closer to realizing Percy and her might end up being a thing… which I totally ship xD

    Like

Leave a Reply

