Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse

IT’S NOT EVERYDAY YOU FIND YOURSELF IN COMBAT WITH A HALF-LION, HALF-HUMAN.
But when you’re the son of a Greek god, it happens. And now my friend Annabeth is missing, a goddess is in chains and only five half-blood heroes can join the quest to defeat the doomsday monster.
Oh, and guess what? The Oracle has predicted that not all of us will survive…

Click on the book cover for the Goodreads link!

Titan's Curse

This book is without a doubt my favourite one in the series so far. Maybe because I didn’t know whatever Riordan was basing the story off, or maybe just because the characters were fantastic. Maybe because Riordan’s writing seems to have improved since Sea of Monsters. Little things like the red-head called Rachel Elizabeth Dare were so clever. R.E.D, see?

Thalia is just as great as everyone told me she would be. The more things she did during the book, the more I wanted to become her best friend. She was sassy and sarcastic, which is always a quality I love. She took none of Percy’s whiny-ness and stupidity. Really, it was about time someone started telling him he was an idiot. And not just Annabeth, because she does it a too-nice way. Plus, Thalia wants to (quite rightly) kill Luke. Annabeth is too soppy, being all in love with him. That girl needs a slap. So she was refreshing, and made me love Thalia even more. I wanted to be her best friend, but I feel like she’s way too cool to even consider taking me in.

Zoe was my next favourite character. Zoe was so different to other characters I’ve read about. She really worshipped ArtemisArtemis, and that was so nice to watch. The whole idea of the Hunters was a good one – I’m pretty sure it was the Greeks idea first, but that’s okay. Artemis quickly made it to one of my favourite goddesses. Their values were so flawed and sexist; girls were superior to boys, and boys were worthless. That made me dislike her just a little in the first part of the book. But she grew up fast, and I admired that. By the end she was even admitting that Percy wasn’t all that bad. It must have taken a lot of inner strength for her to admit that everything she believed it, for thousands of years, wasn’t always true.

I loved Nico too. I didn’t want to be his best friend like I did with the other two girls. I wanted to adopt him and take him into my family. He was just TOO CUTE FOR WORDS! He really looked up to Bianca, that was adorable. It broke my itty bitty heart when he found out the thing that I won’t spoil for you. If you’ve read it, you’ll know which bit I mean. He’s so little and innocent, he can’t handle any bad news. Ever! Even though it did lead to us finally finding out who his parent is, that doesn’t mean I’m happy about it! 

While I’m so sad for Nico, I’m so happy for Grover. He really believes he’s going to find Pan soon. And I personally think he will too. There are all those signs that Pan is around, so he must be, right? I’m really looking forward to the rest of the series, and finding out about how his search goes. Grover is my favourite main character. 

The gods in the series become cooler every time. This time we got Apollo. And OHMYGODS APOLLO IS AMAZING.

Thalia knows what she's talking about!
Thalia knows what she’s talking about!

Seriously, every one of his haiku’s were brilliant. He helped Percy and co., which was so nice, especially for a god. He teased Artemis relentlessly, and with her being so uptight, that was great. I need to meet him. If he was my best friend, I would die happy. Thalia gets bumped down the list, I want Apollo way more. Plus, whenever Athena spoke and made me mad in that final Council of the Gods, I just remembered how much I loved Apollo. He got me through.

What did you all think of the book? Love it, hate it, need to read it? Let me know your thoughts! 🙂 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse

Leave a Reply

