Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

The Reckoning

Chloe Saunders is fifteen and would love to be normal. Unfortunately, Chloe happens to be a genetically engineered necromancer who can raise the dead without even trying. She and her equally gifted (or should that be ‘cursed’?) friends are now running for their lives from the evil corporation that created them.
As if that’s not enough, Chloe is struggling with her feelings for Simon, a sweet-tempered sorcerer, and his brother Derek, a not so sweet-tempered werewolf. And she has a horrible feeling she’s leaning towards the werewolf…
Definitely not normal.

The Reckoning

Oh, would you look at that? Yet ANOTHER disappointing trilogy ending.

This series was something I never expected to love. But the supernatural wasn’t scary, it was interesting. And Chloe had a sort-of thing for Simon, but that never really developed far. And I was happy about that. But Armstrong obviously went to that stupid writers club, and got told off for the lack of romance. 

Cue unneeded love triangle.

Derek decided he had a thing for Chloe, Simon decided to make a move, and a lot of the time the action got a back seat. I am incredibly disappointed. Despite loving Derek so much, and wanting to always see his cute and vulnerable side, that doesn’t mean he needs to use it towards Chloe. Can we please, please just have one young adult book not centred around a love triangle? Or, if that’s too much to ask, make the romance real. Not forced for the fun of it. 

The supernatural side was lacking a bit for me too. Like parts of it actually frightened me! I am pretty easily scared, but still, the first two were just interesting to me, not scary. But it was the world that Armstrong has created that made me still enjoy the book. I was genuinely concerned for the characters lives. I was worried each and every time they got hurt, or found a ghost, or whatever trouble they happened to get into. I worried about Aunt Lauren. I wanted to know who was a bad guy, and who wasn’t, and who was lying. I had to read this book so fast, because I was stressed almost the entire time. 

For a regular book, I think I would have loved it. But as an ending to a trilogy I absolutely adored, I have to say I’m a bit disappointed. That’s not to say you shouldn’t read it – the first two books make it totally worth it! 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “The Reckoning

  1. Oh no 😦 It looks like you have read two books in a row that aren’t too great and both include kind of unnecessary love triangles! Especially as this is the end to the series, that makes it even worse 😦 I sincerely hope your next read is better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

