Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Anna and the French Kiss

Blurb from Goodreads:

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend.
But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?

Anna and the French Kiss

I buddy read this book with someone on Goodreads, so I know how much people love this. But for me, it just… Fell flat. It didn’t live up to the hype for me at all. 

First, there’s Anna. Through the first part of the book, I thought “okay, yeah, she’s kinda cool. I could like her”. I was wrong

Wrong Gif

Anna was horrible. She made stupid decisions when it came to St Clair and Toph, she was mean to her friends, and she never discussed any of her problems. Stephanie Perkins tried to make a love triangle, but she failed. There was never any doubt that St Clair and Anna were meant for each other. If Anna had just stopped being stupid, and stopped trying to make a love triangle out of a relationship with Toph that barely existed, the book could have ended in the first chapter. And really, that would have been so much better. 

St Clair was okay. I didn’t love him, even though I think I was meant to. So that disappointed me too. But he was cute at times, and I know I would love to be his best friend. The way he treated Ellie though, and the fact that he refused to talk about his problems too, made me certain I didn’t want to fall in love with him.

Toph and Dave just shouldn’t have even existed. I’m sorry, but Dave had no purpose. None. Toph should have been got rid of, or developed more. Perkins added too many love interests, to make a boring relationship interesting. It didn’t work. All it did was make me mad that I could clearly see how it would end, but they couldn’t. 

Basically, this book could have not existed if they’d done one simple thing: communicated. St Clair talks to Ellie, Anna talks to Toph and Dave and Mer (she was the worst at this!), Bridge talks to Anna… And voilà. Problem solved, suffering over. Oh, if only

Have any of you read this book? Do you disagree with me? Or are you happy to have found someone who finally agrees with you? Let me know! 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

8 thoughts on “Anna and the French Kiss

  1. I am sorry to hear you didn’t like this book 😦 In most of the reviews I have seen you either love it or hate it, I guess. In fact, I just got this one for Christmas so I will see what I think of it soon! But you did a good job of explaining why you didn’t like it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’m happy I did, I was concerned people were going to get mad that I didn’t like a book so many of them loved. I think you just have to be in the right mood to read it, so I hope you like it 🙂

      Like

  2. Hmm I’m still conflicted whether or not I will read this one! I don’t mind love triangles, but having pointless ones drives me crazy … And the lack of communication sounds frustrating. Maybe I’ll take it off my TBR for now and if, sometime, I get the impulse to read it then I will. Thanks for the review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m sorry you didn’t like this book! Personally I loved it! But it’s your opinion so you have every right! And they aren’t crappy reasons, they are completely reasonable, though I thought Anna and the French Kiss had some perfectly cliche moments that weren’t too cheesy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

