Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Birthmarked

In the future, in a world baked dry by the harsh sun, there are those who live inside the walled Enclave and those, like sixteen-year-old Gaia Stone, who live outside. Following in her mother’s footsteps Gaia has become a midwife, delivering babies in the world outside the wall and handing a quota over to be “advanced” into the privileged society of the Enclave. Gaia has always believed this is her duty, until the night her mother and father are arrested by the very people they so loyally serve. Now Gaia is forced to question everything she has been taught, but her choice is simple: enter the world of the Enclave to rescue her parents, or die trying

Birthmarked

I wrote this review in August, when I read the book. And I’m struggling to remember what actually happened in this book. Which I guess just confirms that this book wasn’t amazing.

At times, it was great. At others, I just wanted it to be over. It started too fast – there was no lead up to make me care about the characters. Don’t get me wrong, I do like books that don’t beat around the bush. But I need some sort of introduction to the world, especially when it’s one the author has created themselves.

Gaia was sometimes strong and admirable, at other times weak and just seemed ready to give up for no reason. I can’t stand characters that swap around like that. It gives the reader no chance to really get to know them.

The rest of the characters were just as flat. When the deaths (that I won’t specify) happened, I didn’t cry, even though I should have, and to me that’s the mark of a bad book. And I’m not going to read the sequel, because I don’t actually care how it all wraps up.
However, the actual writing was very good. The birthing, from what I know, seemed believable. The dystopian society seemed real, to an extent. I tried my best not to analyse the world too much, because some parts of it didn’t make sense. Why separate the two parts of the society? I did feel sorry for the people part of it. Just… Not enough.

So, I wouldn’t recommend this, but I wouldn’t advice you to never go there either. If you have other things to read, read them first. But don’t take this off your list if it’s on there

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

4 thoughts on “Birthmarked

  1. This seems like a pretty mediocre book! I love the title and the cover, and that has already captivated. But I don’t want to read a book that is not memorable and gets boring sometimes and is good at others. I think this is one I will be skipping over. Great review!

    Like

  2. I remember reading this book a few months back and like you I don’t remember what happened in the book. That is a mark of a pretty mediocre book if I don’t remember it. There are some books that just stick in your memory despite the amount of books you are reading 🙂
    I always finish the series though so when I finish it I’ll tell you if it gets better or worse 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

