Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters

The heroic son of Poseidon makes an action-packed comeback in the second must-read installment of Rick Riordan’s amazing young readers series. Starring Percy Jackson, a “half blood” whose mother is human and whose father is the God of the Sea, Riordan’s series combines cliffhanger adventure and Greek mythology lessons that results in true page-turners that get better with each installment. In this episode, The Sea of Monsters, Percy sets out to retrieve the Golden Fleece before his summer camp is destroyed, surpassing the first book’s drama and setting the stage for more thrills to come.

Percy Jackson 2

Okay, don’t get me wrong, I did like this book. A lot. But there were things that annoyed me too.
Did anyone else find it a bit… Boring? Just sometimes, not all the time. I don’t want to hear about how sad Percy is, and how his dad doesn’t care about him, and how he can’t stand Tyson. Sorry, Percy, but your dad does a lot for you. And Tyson saved your life more than once, so you can stop your whining!
In Classics, we studied the Odyssey. So I can tell how completely uncreative Riordan is being. Like the way they escaped Polyphemus? Exactly the same. Apart from looking for something else while they were there, the whole scene was the same. That made me so mad. And Grover unravelling the thing before he got married, just like Penelope. Riordan, please. We’re not stupid. Use your imagination just a little bit more, please. 
Not that all this made it a bad book! I adore Tyson, he’s so sweet. And Annabeth, even though she’s Hermione, is very cool. I love the gods, particularly Hermes. I want to be his best friend, he seems so fun! Even Clarisse isn’t that bad. Terrible as a bad guy, but that’s okay.
I can’t make up my mind about Luke. Don’t get me wrong, I do love him. But some of the things he says makes me roll my eyes. He’s almost an awesome bad guy, but he’s not quite there yet. He can work on it. We’ll get him there.
I do plan to read the next book. I just hope we get more creativity, and hopefully more action, or sneaky character development.

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters

  1. Oh, it’s a shame you didn’t enjoy this book as much as the others 😦 I remember reading this one directly after the first, so I was running on the hype of the first one and didn’t find it boring at all. But to each his/her own!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

