Posted in CHRISTMAS, Music, Posts

25 Days To Go

Now, I know what you’re thinking: 25 days to go?? It can’t be Christmas already!!! So I’m trying not to focus too much on the Christmas posts just yet, to not freak you out. But there are still a few mentions, there has to be!

I was browsing through Spotify Christmas songs (because ’tis the season, fa la la la), and I rediscovered this:

Baby It's Cold Outisde, KlaineBaby It’s Cold Outside, the Glee version! And, better yet, the adorable kids version, sang by gorgeous Michael Buble, and a woman I don’t like quite as much.

And as I was showering – because we all have the best ideas in the warm water, right? That’s not just me, I’m sure – I had a thought.

They’re Eleanor and Park

Now, if you don’t know the book, have a look on Goodreads, and my review. I can see Park begging Eleanor to stay. But she worries, and panics what people will think. He adores her, and it’s not that she doesn’t want to be there, but she has to go! What will Richie do if she’s late? What will her mother think? She’ll start worrying too, about her safety, and Richie, and everything. “There’s bound to be talk tomorrow – At least there will be plenty implied”. You just know her little sister (Maisie? I can’t think of her name!) would assume what the two of them had been up to. And tease her relentlessly. 

I have a lot of epiphanies, but one I’d have to say this is one of my favourites. I cannot get the image of the two of them singing this out of my head. Even though neither of them are the singing type, we can alter that bit of their personalities just slightly. It’d take a while for Park to convince Eleanor to sing with him, but once he did, this would be the song.

What do you think? Can you see them singing this? Or is Eleanor dancing around just a bit too far for your imagination? Is there a different song better suited to them? 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

Leave a Reply

