Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

The One

The Selection changed America Singer’s life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she entered the competition to become the next princess of Illéa, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she’s made her choice . . . and she’s prepared to fight for the future she wants.
Find out who America will choose in The One, the enchanting, beautifully romantic third book in the Selection series! 

The One

I was so sure I posted this for you guys! Anyway, here’s what I thought: 

I’ve read other reviews for this book, and it was mostly “OMG SO AMAZING!” Maybe I missed something, but to me it wasn’t that good.

America became an even worse character then she was in the second book. She treated Maxon horribly! She tried to stop messing around with Aspen, but trying isn’t really good enough when you think you love someone else. If you love someone, that’s that, there should be no competition. Not that he was much better, with Kriss, but he’s in a competition. It’s what he’s meant to do, experiment and decide what he wants. Wouldn’t he fool around, just a little? I don’t think America had any right to get mad at Maxon for that.
The randomly-added plot continued to develop. Did anyone else notice there was a completely different plot in book 1? It only appeared in parts of the second book, then took over this last one. I felt like they could have been separate series. It’s not that I didn’t like the dystopian thing going on, but it’s not what I signed up for when I started this series.
Celeste was a totally different matter. She’s always had that mean streak, and I’m weird, I always love the baddies most. So I’ve always had a bit of a soft spot for her. But in this book, her character completely changed. I know, I know, what is Cass doing?? But it worked. It made me love her so, so much more. I want to be her best friend now. I want to be sitting at home bored, send her a text, and double date with her and whoever she wants, and me and Maxon. Seriously, it has to happen.
BUT THEN THE ENDING. That was incredibly stressful. Honestly, that was the books saving feature. It wrapped up all the loose ends, and broke my heart. What more can you want from an ending, right? Maxon finally chose, everything went wrong, and it didn’t leave me wanting more. It left me happy, if a little (a lot) stressed.

So overall, 3/5 stars. Almost entirely for Celeste and that ending

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “The One

  1. Oh. It’s a shame you didn’t like this book as much as the previous too and that the ending let you down a bit because of the character America. But it sounds like the plot at the end was still good and you are generally satisfied with the series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

