Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

The Summoning

The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong

Blurb from Goodreads:

My name is Chloe Saunders and my life will never be the same again.

All I wanted was to make friends, meet boys, and keep on being ordinary. I don’t even know what that means anymore. It all started on the day that I saw my first ghost – and the ghost saw me.

Now there are ghosts everywhere and they won’t leave me alone. To top it all off, I somehow got myself locked up in Lyle House, a “special home” for troubled teens. Yet the home isn’t what it seems. Don’t tell anyone, but I think there might be more to my housemates than meets the eye. The question is, whose side are they on? it’s up to me to figure out the dangerous secrets behind Lyle House…before its skeletons come back to haunt me.

The Summoning

This is not something I would usually read at all. It’s paranormal; as in, they have creepy powers. They can see the dead, and the dead are out to get them. Maybe I’m just a wuss, but that freaks me out!
Honestly, I don’t know what made me pick up this book in the first place. But I did, and I am so happy about it! Firstly, Simon. Okay, you can all get your hands off Simon! He’s so freaking cute. And not in a purposeful way, in an accidental way. The way he cares about Derek is so sweet. Even though Derek is the older one, and they’re only adopted brothers, Simon looks after him so well. Don’t get me wrong, Derek does the same to him. But Simon isn’t meant to, he’s the younger one! The relationship between those two brothers was my favourite thing in the book. They would die for each other, and I think that’s beautiful.
Chloe, however, was nowhere near as cool. At the start, she was obsessed with her period. Yes, okay, it sucks that you’re so far behind your friends, but so what? We don’t need to hear about it that much. And she acted way younger than she was meant to be during the entire book. I never like main characters, so I wasn’t going into this book with high hopes for her, but that doesn’t mean I’m not annoyed! I just wanted her to take on a little responsibility. Simon and Derek do not have to okay everything she wants to do. The few times she did try to do something without them, she ended up yelling at Derek for things that weren’t as bad as she thought they were.

A lot of other reviewers have said they didn’t like the mental house she was stuck in. Personally, I thought it was great. That’s the kind of book I love, crazy people and mental institutes, and their pain while they struggle to get out.

Okay, that sounded less insane in my head…

Anyway, the group home was awesome. Not in a I-want-to-go-there way, more in a -please-let-me-read-more way!

Despite it’s flaws, I loved this book. I can’t wait to read the next one!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

6 thoughts on “The Summoning

  1. This book has been on me list for a while. (actually at the top) I love good sibling relationships! Too often book characters are only children. Yeah often the main character isn’t my favorite. I don’t usually like that whole mental institution thing. (too close to home)

    Like

Leave a Reply

