Posted in Posts

Heroes vs. Villains (no 1)

Welcome to my new weekly post, (stolen shamelessly from the show Survivor), Heroes vs Villains!

Heroes vs Villians

This is going to be a weekly challenge where we pick a protagonist and antagonist from a YA book, and get you to vote on who you like better. At the end we’ll tally up the points, and the winners can be the inspiration for my next post!

To tell me your opinion on who you like better, simply post a comment! If you want to know your own fans opinions, post it over on your blog, and tally up their votes. Send me a link, and I’ll add a point over here. You’ll have a week (until my next post) to let me know who you want to win.

So, sounding interesting? Good! Here we go then, starting with…

 

Harry James Potter

He looks damn fine in this photo!
He looks damn fine in this photo!

Date of birth: July 31st 1980

Book series: Harry Potter, duh!

What I like about himHe’s kinda like me, in that he has a “saving people thing”. He likes to go and rescue people in need, even if that does turn out terribly for him a lot of the time. I have the same problem; I get way too involved when my friends have dramas in their lives. Though it’s never ended quite as badly as it does with Harry (coughOrder-of-the-Phoenixcough)

What I don’t like so muchOh, where do I begin? I guess he has every main character’s fatal flaw; he’s dumb. He never, ever, thinks before he leaps into things. Seriously, what would he do without Hermione? He went into the Chamber of Secrets when she wasn’t around. He wanted to pick a fight with a mass murderer.  He saw a vision of Sirius, so he leapt in to save him. He likes to break rules. I know, it would be a boring series if he didn’t. But sometimes what he’s told makes sense. And if he wasn’t so dumb about it, he wouldn’t be caught! Like sneaking into Hogsmeade? He stuffed that one up badly. Plus gate-crashed a could-be date!

Would I vote for him?: Honestly, probably not. I think he’s a bit of a tosser, and my villain is way, way cooler.

Bellatrix Lestrange

BellatrixDate of birth: 1951 (I couldn’t find a more specific date)

Book series: Still Harry Potter

What I like about her: She’s insane! She kills people for fun, and she laughs about it, and it’s great. Just look at that photo of her. Can’t you hear her crazy laugh? After the death in the Order of the Phoenix movie, it’s her that stops me from crying. She skips of singing and it makes me so happy every single time. She jokes about the things she’s about to do. Like what happened to Neville’s parents, she had no remorse, and was happy to tease Neville about it. Maybe that should make me dislike her, but to me it makes her one of the best bad guys of all time.

What I don’t like so much: Her love for Voldemort. It’s one thing being a Death Eater, and that I’ll allow. But wasn’t she married? I think if Voldemort had human emotions they’d be having an affair. He’s creepy, and not in a cool way. I don’t know how you can be in love with him. Plus, it was one of those little plot things that was never gone fully in to. I know that’s J.K.’s fault, but it makes me dislike Bellatrix just a little.

Would I vote for her?: Yes! Like I said, she’s the best villain of all time. Why do you think I’ve put her in the running instead of Voldemort?

Okay, people! Go, tell me your opinions, and let me know who you want to win!
Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “Heroes vs. Villains (no 1)

  1. Obviously most people would say Harry, but it would probably be Bellatrix. I actually liked that she cared for Voldemort, because it showed she had a heart. It was odd with her husband though, he was just sort of there. Harry was so stupid at times. Seriously half the problems in the book were caused by Harry not thinking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

