Posted in Posts

Does It Need To Be Three?

I think one day the authors of the world sat down and said “It should be a trilogy!” And they made a pact, and now, they all make their series into trilogies. Stand-alones are rare, hardly any books become long series, and two books? What are you, insane?

But was this a good pact to make? Or was it just a waste of the author’s, and more importantly our time?

Hunger GamesFirst we have the Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins. This, to me, is a perfect example of someone who should have just stopped. The first one, with the actual games, was great. I loved it. Then the first half of the second one was good, and a few scenes in the end. The third one… It just felt like it didn’t need to be there. There was so many deaths that shouldn’t have happened. The loose ends were tied up, but most of it could have been cut, and the second and third books could have easily been put into one.

Divergent For me, Divergent by Veronica Roth wasn’t that good a series. And not because it was a trilogy, just because it didn’t live up to all the hype. The first one was good, and the idea was good, but the writing wasn’t amazing. So again, it didn’t need to be a trilogy. Really, it only needed to be one.

The Selection Series The Selection Series by Kiera Cass

This is the best example I could find of a series that should have stopped at two. In the first book the Selection, America was my hero. I loved her so much. As a general rule, I hate main characters, so this was a great surprise for me. But then Kiera Cass decided that she must have a plot outside of the Selection. And really, it was all downhill from there. Honestly, Cass tried too hard. It could have been two separate series; one with Maxon, one with the castes etc. The first one was by far the best, and the second one was great, but the third let me down.

These were the three main trilogies I could think of that were a major disappointment. major-disappointment

But am I missing any? Or should these ones not be on my list? Let me know your thoughts! 🙂

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

8 thoughts on “Does It Need To Be Three?

  1. I definitely agree!!!! Mockingjay put me to sleep while I lost sleep wondering what would happen when I was reading hte Hunger Games. Go figure…
    Allegiant was horrible. The writing isn’t really that great, I agree. There was no difference between Tobias and Tris’ POVs! 😦
    Don’t even dare to get me started on the Selection. I’ll be here for HOURS!
    The MAZE RUNNER TRILOGY! I don’t know about you cuz so many people love it but I personally hated it! The first book was pretty good, I guess, save the writing. Then it just got WORSE and WORSE!! GAH! The idea was good but the execution is TERRIBLE and then he let that genius idea go to waste and I hated where the story went! D:

    ~Fari

    Like

    1. I completely forgot Allegiant had split POV’s, that is how unmemorable that book was to me! I have my reviews on the Selection trilogy floating around somewhere, where I expressed my anger 😛
      I haven’t read the Maze Runner yet! So many people have told me it’s good, but now you’ve got me worried!

      Like

      1. Haha, not at all surprised!

        Oh… sorry. I hope YOU really like it, though! The idea is a spark of genius… He just isn’t a good writer… Or someone who knows how to have a genius idea and KEEP that genius idea… I hope you enjoy it, though! So many people have!

        Like

  2. I also think Matched by Ally Condie was a huge fail as a trilogy, but then I didn’t like them at all. Hunger Games should’ve stopped at two. I felt like Divergent wouldn’t have been complete if it wasn’t for all three of them being there, and yet I found the last one pretty boring. In general though, I did like the series.

    As for trilogies, it is mostly teen fiction that has caught up to this trend. I mean all the adult books and other genres seem to be either more than three or standalones, mostly…

    Like

    1. Oh, I forgot about Matched! I liked the first, but that was absolutely too many. I think Insurgent and Allegiant should have been one book. You’re right, they were all needed, but it was the boringness in the middle they could’ve got rid of.
      Hm, I didn’t realise that. I don’t really read many adult books, but I think I need to 🙂

      Like

  3. I’m usually okay about trilogies. I really like series, but if they’re really long, I tend to get tired of them. I do agree that there should be more variety, though. Trilogies are dominating series. It would be nice to see more duologies!

    Like

Leave a Reply

