Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

The Elite

I’ve just recently finished the Elite, by Kiera Cass, the sequel to the Selection. Here’s the blurb from Goodreads:

The Selection began with thirty-five girls.
Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?
America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want—and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away.

This cover is seriously beautiful!
   This cover is seriously beautiful!

Yet again, another great book. Although I will say it wasn’t as good as the first. The main thing I liked about the Selection was the amazing character work. But, obviously, with less girls left, there’s less character work.
America developed, as you’d expect. Only she’s become comfortable with royal life, and she was… Well, a bit spoilt brattish. She expected Maxon to be completely true to her at all times, even though she says she’s still in love with Aspen. Sorry, but that isn’t how it works! She needs to choose who she wants, and he can take his own sweet time. That’s how the competition works. He’s allowed to like (or love) other girls, and wouldn’t you fool around a bit? A castle full of girls madly in love with him, I don’t blame him!
The bit with Marlee… Oh, sweet Marlee. I won’t go into details, just know that it was written well and broke my heart.
The other tiny problem I had with this was how long it took. There were six girls at the start. While they did leave with a bang, only two were made to leave! There’s still a whole book to go. I’m not sure it’s needed.

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “The Elite

  1. I haven’t read any of these because I still need to start the series! But at some point I really want to because I have heard so many positive things about them and Kiera sounds like a great author. Glad you enjoyed this one 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

