Posted in Posts

Madness Is Genius

Sometimes we all get stuck in slumps. We stick with the same books, or the same music, and we never ever want to leave. It’s these slumps that have inspired my next batch of posts!

They say that if you’re insane you don’t know it, right? So I need someone (that’s you) to judge me yourself. Today I have a list for you to psycho-analyse. Here are the last five books I read.

Books I Just Read

1. Skulduggery Pleasant: the Dying of the Light. The War of the Sanctuaries has been won, but it was not without its casualties. Following the loss of Valkyrie Cain, Skulduggery Pleasant must use any and all means to track down and stop Darquesse before she turns the world into a charred, lifeless cinder.
And so he draws together a team of soldiers, monster hunters, killers, criminals… and Valkyrie’s own murderous reflection.
The war may be over, but the final battle is about to begin. And not everyone gets out of here alive…

2. Eleanor and Park. Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.
Eleanor
… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.
Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.
Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try

Flowers
This post looked boring

3. The Selection. For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.
But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.
Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagine

4. The Book Thief. It’s just a small story really, about, among other things, a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery.
Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist: books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbours during bombing raids – as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.
This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul

5. Under the Never Sky. Aria has lived her whole life in the protected dome of Reverie. Her entire world confined to its spaces, she’s never thought to dream of what lies beyond its doors. So when her mother goes missing, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland long enough to find her are slim.
Then Aria meets an outsider named Perry. He’s searching for someone too. He’s also wild – a savage – but might be her best hope at staying alive.
If they can survive, they are each other’s best hope for finding answers

And I’m currently reading…

Uptown Girl (or Dumping Billy). There’s something magical about Billy Nolan. It’s not just that the Brooklyn bar owner is wickedly handsome; it is also that any woman he dates and dumps – and he dumps them all – immediately goes on to marry the next man she meets. But Kate Jameson is immune to his charms. She left Brooklyn for upward-mobility in Manhattan at the first chance she got, and she’s not about to fall for some cad from the old neighborhood. But when her best friend Bina’s engagement is broken off, Kate hatches a plan: all she has to do is get Billy to date and dump Bina. Then they’ll wait for Bina’s wayward fiance to return for the magic to happen. But the one thing Kate hasn’t counted on is how Billy feels about the whole plot – and how she begins to feel about Billy. She may have changed her style, but her roots are showing.

I want you, my lovely readers, to tell me if I’m in a slump. Am I sticking with the same sorts of books too much? They all have some (well, a lot) of romance in them. They’re mostly young adult. Is there any else I’m missing. Am I going insane??

Insanity

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

One thought on “Madness Is Genius

Leave a Reply

