Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Eleanor and Park

Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.
Eleanor
… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.
Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

Eleanor and Park

 

So the majority of this book was AMAZING. I mean, sure, I didn’t exactly love Eleanor. But I was in love with their love. Park knew how insecure she was, and he let her know she was beautiful. Tina and co felt so real, and my heart broke for Eleanor every time they did anything even slightly cruel to her. Richie was just disgusting. I despised him. Normally I would just hate a character like him, but this went beyond that. It was the thing with the book (that doesn’t give it away I hope!) that was the absolute last straw for me.

I liked, as per usual, Rowell’s writing style. This book switched between the couple’s two points of view, which quite often (including in my own writing) ends up a terrible mess. But this book just wouldn’t be write if we couldn’t fully see how different they were. We got to see into Eleanor’s home life, but the bit at the end wouldn’t have worked if we weren’t in Park’s head.

I didn’t like Park’s mother. She was so mean to poor Eleanor. She doesn’t have to like her, I’m okay with that, but could she make it any more obvious? All she would have to do was talk to her a little. I’m not asking for much, just a little respect. Yes, she got there in the end, but it should have happened a lot faster.

It was the ending that bugged me. “Just three little words”. But what were they?? We can assume, of course, by the reaction. But you’ll never really know. That small uncertainty bothers me. I like definite endings, not this ‘romantic’ vague ending. That was the only thing that let down the book for me

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

One thought on “Eleanor and Park

Leave a Reply

