Posted in Posts

Round the World

Welcome to my new weekly posts! I’m going to be exploring (and hopefully reading) a book for every letter of the alphabet for countries all around the world. Starting this week with…

A

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

Blurb from Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24583.The_Adventures_of_Tom_Sawyer

From the famous episodes of the whitewashed fence and the ordeal in the cave to the trial of Injun Joe, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer is redolent of life in the Mississippi River towns in which Twain spent his own youth. A somber undercurrent flows through the high humor and unabashed nostalgia of the novel, however, for beneath the innocence of childhood lie the inequities of adult reality—base emotions and superstitions, murder and revenge, starvation and slavery. In his introduction, noted Twain scholar John Seelye considers Twain’s impact on American letters and discusses the balance between humorous escapades and serious concern that is found in much of Twain’s writing.

This book is set in St. Petersburg, Missouri. I’m sorry to all you Americans, but to me this one is foreign! It’s quite old, so I don’t think it really represents America now. But it’s still a view of what America used to be like.

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

One thought on “Round the World

Leave a Reply

